

The Deputy Secretary of Energy Washington, DC 20585

May 4, 2007

MEMORANDUM FOR DISTRIBUTION

FROM:

CLAY SELL

SUBJECT:

Federal Technical Capability Partel Chairperson

The Department's Federal Technical Capability Panel coordinates activities to recruit, deploy, develop, and retain Federal employees with the necessary technical capabilities to safely accomplish the Department's missions and responsibilities at defense nuclear facilities.

For the past five years, Mr. Roy Schepens has done a superb job at leading the Panel in improving the rigor and effectiveness of the Department's technical capability. With Mr. Schepens' recent retirement from Federal service, I designate Ms. Karen L. Boardman, Director of the National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA) Service Center, as the Chairperson of the Panel.

As the Director of the NNSA Service Center, Ms. Boardman is successfully implementing a model Federal technical training and qualification program. Her leadership and experience in a range of challenging technical duties make her well-suited to lead the Panel. I expect the Panel to continue to effectively implement the Department's Technical Qualification Program for defense nuclear facilities and ask you to support Ms. Boardman in her efforts.

I have asked Ms. Boardman to keep me apprised of the Panel's progress in this important endeavor.

Distribution:

Raymond Orbach, US Thomas D'Agostino, NNSA Dennis Spurgeon, NE Glenn Podonsky, HS-1 Michael Kilpatrick, HS-1 Mark Whitaker, HS-1.1 Jim Rispoli, EM-1 Jeff Pon, HR-1 Jody Hudson, HR-20 Patricia Worthington, HS-10 Patrice Bubar, HS-30 Thomas Staker, HS-64 Chip Lagdon, US James McConnell, NA-2 Will Tobey, NA-20 Marty Schoenbauer, NA-10 Jay Norman, NA-10 Frank Russo, NA-3.6 John Evans, NA-3.6 George Malosh, SC-3 Steve Young, HR-23 Dae Chung, EM-60 Sunil Patel, EM-3.2 Michael Worley, NE-70 Camille Yuan-Soo Hoo, LSO Daniel Glenn, LASO Steve Erhart, PXSO Richard Arkin, SRSO Patrice Wagner, SSO Theodore Sherry, YSO Karen Boardman, NNSA-NZ Mike Weis, RL David Moody, CBFO William Taylor, OH William Murphie, PPPO

Shirley Olinger, ORP Jeffrey Allison, SR Jack Craig, EM-CBC Elizabeth Sellers, ID Gerald Boyd, OR Vernon Daub, CBFO Robert Everson, EM-CBC David Kozlowski, PPPO William Spader, SR Bryan Bower, OH-WV Phillip Hill, LSO Fred Bell, LASO Stephen Mellington, NSO Jerry Johnson, PXSO Dan Hoag, YSO Kevin Hall, SRSO Pat Hoopes, KCSO Ralph Kopenhaver, LSO David Chaney, NNSA-NZ Stephen Mellington, NSO Jim Todd, SSO Doug Shoop, RL Robert Stallman, ID Robert Brown, ORO Dana Bryson, ORP