Skip to main content
NIH Clinical Center
  Home | Contact Us | Site Map | Search
About the Clinical Center
For Researchers and Physicians
Participate in Clinical Studies

Back to: Clinical Center Home Page > About the Clinical Center
NIH Clinical Center Senior Staff

Office of the Director

Clinical Center Director

John I. Gallin, MD

Deputy Director for Clinical Care

David Henderson, MD

Chief, Nursing and Patient Care Services

Clare Hastings, PhD, RN, FAAN

Chief Operating Officer

Maureen Gormley

Chief Financial Officer

Maria D. Joyce

Director, Clinical Research Training and Medical Education

Frederick P. Ognibene, MD

Department of Anesthesia and Surgical Services


Zenaide Quezado, MD


Ezekiel Emanuel, MD, PhD

Head, Section on Ethics and Health Policy

Marion Danis, MD

Head, Section on Human Subjects Research

Christine Grady, MSN, PhD

Head, Unit on Multinational Research

Reidar K. Lie, MD, PhD

Head, Unit on Vulnerable Populations

David S. Wendler, MA, PhD

Senior Research Fellow

Alan P. Wertheimer, PhD

Senior Faculty

Franklin G. Miller, PhD

Ethics Consultant

Seema Shah, J.D.


Jon McKeeby, D.Sc.

Laboratory for Informatics Development


James J. Cimino, MD


Henry Masur, MD

Deputy Chief; Head Pulmonary Consultation Service

James Shelhamer, MD

Associate Chief; Medical Director, Critical Care Therapy and Respiratory Care Section

Anthony F. Suffredini, MD

Head, Emerging Infections Section

John Beigel, MD

Head, Functional Genomics Facility

Robert L. Danner, MD

Head, Critical Care Section

Peter Eichacker, MD

Senior Investigator

Mark Gladwin, MD

Head Sickle Cell Section

Gregory J. Kato, MD

Head, AIDS Section

Joseph Kovacs, MD

Head, Pulmonary Hypertension Section

Roberto F. Machado, MD

Head, Nuclear Cardiology Section

Dorothea McAreavey, MD

Head, Anesthesia Section

Charles Natanson, MD

Head, Procedure Station

Naomi P. O'Grady, MD

Head, Cardiology Section

Michael A. Solomon, MD


David A. Bluemke, MD, PhD, MsB

Associate Director, Clinical Operations

Elizabeth C. Jones, MD

Senior Investigator

Ronald Summers, MD, PhD

Senior Investigator

Bradford Wood, MD

Nuclear Medicine Department


Ronald D. Neumann, MD


Peter Herscovitch, MD


Thomas A. Fleisher, MD

Chief, Clinical Chemistry Service

Glen L. Hortin, MD, PhD

Chief, Hematology Service

Pierre Noel, MD

Chief, Microbiology Service

Patrick R. Murray, PhD

Pain and Palliative Care


Ann Berger, MD


Robert DeChristoforo, MS


Leighton Chan, MD, MPH

Director, Biomechanics

Diane L. Damiano, PhD PT

Director, Rehabilitation Medicine Consult Service

Galen Joe, MD

Chief, Occupational Therapy Section

Bonnie C. Hodsdon

Chief, Physical Therapy Section

Jerome V. Danoff, PT, PhD

Staff Scientist and Chief, Epidemiology and Biostatistics Section

Elizabeth K. Rasch, PT, PhD

Chief, Recreation Therapy Section

Donna Gregory, CTRS, MBA


Harvey G. Klein, MD

Chief, Cell Processing Section

David F. Stroncek, MD


Lisa G. Portnoy, DVM

Internal Medicine Consult Service


Fred Gill, MD


Deborah P. Merke, MD, MS

This page last reviewed on 11/18/08

National Institutes
of Health
  Department of Health
and Human Services
NIH Clinical Center National Institutes of Health