Navigation Bar Grades K-2 Grades 3-5 Grades 6-8Grades 9-12 Parents and Teachers Home

Who Makes Laws?

National laws are made in Congress, which is part of the legislative branch and is made up of the House of Representatives and the Senate. Congress can make laws on all kinds of matters, such as setting speed limits on highways or regulating how much radon may be found in drinking water. During each Congress, which lasts two years, senators and representatives introduce about 10,000 bills. During that time, about 650 bills are passed by Congress and then signed into law by the president.

Congress is made up of two branches -- The House of Representatives and the Senate.

To learn more, choose from the following:

Related links