Navigation Bar Grades K-2 Grades 3-5 Grades 6-8 Grades 9-12 Parents and Teachers Home

Powers Denied to the National Government and State Governments

National Government State Governments
  • May not violate the Bill of Rights
  • May not impose export taxes among states
  • May not use money from the Treasury without the passage and approval of an appropriations bill
  • May not change state boundaries
  • May not enter into treaties with other countries
  • May not print money
  • May not tax imports or exports
  • May not Impair obligations of contracts
  • May not suspend a person's rights without due process

In addition, neither the national government nor state governments may:

  • Grant titles of nobility
  • Permit slavery (13th Amendment)
  • Deny citizens the right to vote due to race, color, or previous servitude (15th Amendment)
  • Deny citizens the right to vote because of gender (19th Amendment)
To learn more, choose from the following:

Related links