COLORADO

CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS

110th Congress (January 2006 - January 2008)

The Constitution prescribes Congressional apportionment based on decennial census population data. Each state has at least one Representative, no matter how small its population. Since 1941, distribution of Representatives has been based on total U.S. population, so that the average population per Representative has the least possible variation between one state and any other. Congress fixes the number of voting Representatives at each apportionment. States delineate the district boundaries. The first House of Representatives in 1789 had 65 members; currently there are 435. There are non-voting delegates from American Samoa, the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.







6 7





NEBRASKA WYOMING Julesburg Sedgwick Logan Larimer Jackson Moffat Holyoke ° Sterling Steamboat Springs • Fort Collins Craig Phillips Loveland Greeley Routt Morgan Longmont Fort Morgan Akron Wray Meeker. Grand Rio Blanco Yuma Boulder • Washington 2 Gilpin Clear Creek Lakewood Vail. Arapahoe Eagle Garfield Glenwood Douglas Kit Carson Burlington Elbert Limon Pitkin Lake Aspen* **Grand Junction** Park Lincoln Mesa Colorado Springs 5 Teller Delta Cheyenne Wells. Chaffee Delta • Cheyenne Gunnison 3 *Gunnison Salida • Montrose Fremont Kiowa Montrose Pueblo Crowley Ouray Pueblo Custer *Lamar Saguache San Miguel Prowers Bent Otero Hinsdale Dolores San Juan Huerfano Del Norte • Mineral *Walsenburg Monte Vista* Alamosa Rio Grande .Springfield La Plata Montezuma Baca Pagosa Springs . Las Animas Costilla Durango* Archuleta Conejos Trinidad. .Antonito

NEW MEXICO

U.S. Department of the Interior U.S. Geological Survey

The National Atlas of the United States of America®

OKLAHOMA