National Surface Transportation Policy and Revenue Study Commission Public Session Wednesday, May 24, 2006

U.S. Department of Transportation Headquarters 400 Seventh Street, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20590

9:00 – 9:10 a.m. Welcome Remarks from Secretary Norman Y. Mineta, Chairman of the National Surface Transportation Policy and Revenue Study Commission

9:10 – 9:45 a.m. Open Remarks from Members of the Commission

9:45-10:00 a.m. "Commission Responsibilities and Overview of the Statute and Organizational Issues," presented by Commission staff

<u>10:00 – 10:45 a.m.</u> "Surface Transportation Program and Finance History," presented by Jack Basso, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials

10:50 – 11:30 a.m. "Fuel Tax and Alternatives for Transportation Funding," presented by Joe Morris and Steve Godwin, Transportation Research Board

11:30 – 12:00 p.m. General Discussion

12:00 – 12:30 p.m. Media Availability (Media Center)

12:30 – 1:45 p.m. Lunch (Mess)

"Executive Decisions on Transportation," presented by Governors Mitch Daniels (R-Indiana) and Tim Kaine (D-Virginia)