National Surface Transportation Policy and Revenue Study Commission Public Session Monday, March 19, 2007

2167 Rayburn House Office Building Hearing Room Washington, D.C. 20515

8:15 a.m. Opening Remarks

8:30-4:45 a.m. Public Hearings

Panel #1: "State and Local Elected Officials"

- Bart Peterson, Mayor of Indianapolis, representing the National League of Cities
- Scott Haggerty, member of the Alameda County Board of Supervisors, (California), representing the National Association of Counties

Panel #2: "User Perspectives"

- Rolf Th. Lundberg, Jr., Senior Vice President for Congressional and Public Affairs, the U.S. Chamber of Commerce
- Robert L. Darblenet, President & CEO, the American Automobile Association
- Greg Cohen, President & CEO, the American Highway Users Alliance

Panel #3: "Transportation System Perspectives from Managers and Planners"

- John Horsley, Executive Director, the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials
- William A. Verkest, PE, President, the American Public Works Association
- Jim McKenzie, Executive Director of Metroplan (Arkansas), representing the Association of Metropolitan Planning Organizations
- Jean Godwin, Executive Vice President, the American Association of Port Authorities
- Jacqueline Johnson, Executive Director, the National Congress of American Indians

Panel #4: "Transportation Providers"

- William W. Millar, President, the American Public Transportation Association
- Peter J. Pantuso, President & CEO, the American Bus Association
- Bill Graves, President & CEO, the American Trucking Associations
- Craig F. Rockey, Vice President for Policy and Economics, the Association of American Railroads
- Ross B. Capon, Executive Director, the National Association of Railroad Passengers

Panel #5: "Infrastructure Providers"

Ken Simonson, Chief Economist, the Associated General Contractors of America

- Charlie Potts, First Vice Chairman and CEO of Heritage Construction & Materials, representing American Road & Transportation Builders Association
- Guy Stephenson, Senior Vice President of the National Waterways Conference and Legal Counsel of Weyerhaeuser, Inc., and Scott Robinson, Executive Director of the Port of Muskogee (Oklahoma)
- Christopher A. McLean, Counsel, the Vehicle Traffic Information Coalition
- Patrick D. Jones, Executive Director, the International Bridge, Tunnel, and Turnpike Association

Panel #6: "Workforce Issues"

- Michael Siano, Executive Vice President, Amalgamated Transit Union
- James M. Brunkenhoefer, National Legislative Director, the United Transportation Union
- Donald J. Kaniewski, Laborers' International Union of North America

Panel #7: "Policy Issues"

- Robert E. Skinner, Jr., Executive Director, the Transportation Research Board
- David L. Greene, Corporate Fellow, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
- Anne P. Canby, President, the Surface Transportation Policy Project

4:45 p.m. Adjourn