National Surface Transportation Policy and Revenue Study Commission Public Session

Wednesday, February 21 – Thursday, February 22, 2007

Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority
One Gateway Plaza
Los Angeles, California 90012

Wednesday, February 21, 2007

Day #1: "California and the National Economy"

1:30 p.m. Opening Remarks by Secretary Mary E. Peters, Chairman of the National Surface Transportation Policy and Revenue Study Commission

1:45 p.m. Panel #1: "Trade and Commerce"

- Barry Sedlik, Acting Secretary, California Business, Transportation and Housing Agency
- Gill Hicks, Gill V. Hicks & Associates, Chair, California Marine and Intermodal Transportation System Advisory Council
- Jerry Tidwell, Senior Vice President, Supply Operations, Safeway Corporation
- Ray Burgett, Director International Logistics and Transportation, Pier 1 Imports
- Tony Grasso, Executive Director, San Bernardino Associated Governments

3:30 p.m. Break

3:45 p.m. Panel #2: "Mobility, Congestion and Safety"

- Eugene Skoropowski, Managing Director Capitol Corridor Joint Powers Authority
- Mehdi Morshed, Executive Director, California High Speed Rail Authority
- Pete Speer, President, American Traffic Safety Services Association
- Dr. Genevieve Guiliano, Senior Associate Dean, Research and Technology, School of Policy Planning and Development, University of Southern California and Director, Metrans Transportation Center
- Will Kempton, Director, California Department of Transportation

5:15 p.m. Public Comment Period

5:30 p.m. Adjourn

Wednesday, February 22, 2007

Day #2: "National Policy and Efficiency"

8:30 a.m. Opening Remarks by Commissioner Steve Heminger, the National Surface Transportation Policy and Revenue Study Commission

8:35 a.m. Keynote Testimony and Questions for Elected Officials

• Senator Alan Lowenthal, Chair, California Senate Transportation and Housing Committee

- Assembly member Pedro Nava, Chair, California Assembly Transportation Committee
- Gloria Molina, Los Angeles County Supervisor and Chair, Metropolitan Transportation Authority Board of Directors

9:00 a.m. Panel #3: "Partnership and Collaboration"

Presenters:

- Gary Gallegos, Executive Director, San Diego Association of Governments
- Art Leahy, CEO, Orange County Transportation Authority
- G. Kent Woodman, Partner, Thompson Coburn LLP
- John Barna, Executive Director, California Transportation Commission

10:30 a.m. Break

10:45 a.m. Panel #4: "Transitioning to the Next Generation Transportation System"

- Tim Waltze, President, The Griffith Company
- Roger Snoble, CEO, Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority
- Sunne Wright-McPeak, CEO, California Emerging Technology Fund
- Dr. Martin Wachs, Director, Transportation, Space and Technology, RAND

12:15 p.m. Public Comment Period

12:30 p.m. Adjourn