National Surface Transportation Policy and Revenue Study Commission

Commissioners:

Mary Peters, Chair Secretary U.S. Department of Transportation

Jack Schenendorf, Vice Chair Of Counsel Covington and Burling, LLP

Frank Busalacchi Secretary Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Maria Cino
Former Deputy Secretary
U.S. Department of Transportation

Rick Geddes Associate Professor Department of Policy Analysis and Management Cornell University

Steve Heminger Executive Director Metropolitan Transportation Commission San Francisco Bay Area

Frank McArdle Senior Advisor General Contractors Association of New York

Steve Odland, Chairman and CEO Office Depot, Inc.

Patrick E. Quinn Co-Chairman and President U.S. Xpress Enterprises, Inc.

Matt Rose Chairman and CEO BNSF Railway

Tom Skancke CEO The Skancke Company

Paul Weyrich Chairman and CEO Free Congress Foundation

1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE Washington, DC 20590 www.transportationfortomorrow.org

"Create and sustain the preeminent surface transportation system in the world."

Susan J. Binder Executive Director (202) 366-9208 susan.binder@dot.gov January 15, 2008

The Honorable Richard Cheney President of the United States Senate Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Mr. President and Madam Speaker:

We are pleased to transmit to you "*Transportation for Tomorrow*: Report of the National Surface Transportation Policy and Revenue Study Commission." With the submission of this report, the Commission has met the charge given under Section 1909 of the Safe, Accountable, Flexible, and Efficient Transportation Equity Act—A Legacy for Users (SAFETEA-LU).

An identical letter has been sent to the U.S. Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works, the U.S. Senate Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs, the U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation, and the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure.

Sincerely yours,

Mary Peters
Chair

Jack Schenendorf Vice Chair