Hazard Mitigation Grant Program

The Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) provides grants to States and local governments to implement long-term hazard mitigation measures after a major disaster declaration.  The purpose of the HMGP is to reduce the loss of life and property due to natural disasters and to enable mitigation measures to be implemented during the immediate recovery from a disaster. The HMGP is authorized under Section 404 of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act.

Get email icon HMGP e-mail updates

HMGP References

Property Acquisition and Relocation for Open Space

HMGP Desk Reference

HMGP Brochure (FEMA Publication L-139)

HMGP Fact Sheet

Resources are available from the FEMA Library.

Application Development

FEMA's mitigation grants, including HMGP, are provided to eligible Applicant States/Tribes/Territories that, in turn, provide sub-grants to local governments.  The Applicant selects and prioritizes applications developed and submitted to them by local jurisdictions to submit to FEMA for grant funds.

Prospective Sub-applicants should consult the official designated point of contact for their Applicant State/Tribe/Territory for further information regarding specific program and application requirements:

Regional Offices

State Hazard Mitigation Officers

Additional information for FEMA mitigation grant activities, including project development and pre-award requirements, is available on the Grant Applicant Resources web page.

Frequently Asked Questions

Additional Grant Programs

Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA)
Provides funding to assist States and communities in implementing measures to reduce or eliminate the long-term risk of flood damage to buildings, manufactured homes, and other structures insurable under the NFIP.

Pre-Disaster Mitigation Grant Program (PDM)
Provides funds to states, territories, Indian tribal governments, communities, and universities for hazard mitigation planning and the implementation of mitigation projects prior to a disaster event.

Repetitive Flood Claims (RFC)
Provides funding to States and communities to reduce or eliminate the long-term risk of flood damage to structures insured under the NFIP that have had one or more claims for flood damages, and that can not meet the requirements of the Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) program for either cost share or capacity to manage the activities.

Severe Repetitive Loss (SRL)
Provides funding to reduce or eliminate the long-term risk of flood damage to severe repetitive loss (SRL) structures insured under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

Last Modified: Tuesday, 24-Jun-2008 14:05:39 EDT



Online Tools


Related Topics