Applied Technology Council

A Nonprofit Corporation Advancing Engineering Applications for Hazard Mitigation California • Washington DC Area



Christopher P. Jones, President Patrick Buscovich, Vice President David A. Hutchinson, Secretary/Treasurer

April 5, 2006

Dr. Jack Hayes, Director National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) 100 Bureau Drive, Stop 8610 Gaithersburg, MD 20899-6275

SUBJECT: ATC AWARDS FOR TOP SEISMIC PRODUCTS AND PROGRAMS OF THE 20^{TH} CENTURY

Dear Jack:

On behalf of the Applied Technology Council (ATC) and Engineering News Record (ENR), I have the great pleasure of advising that the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP) has been selected by an independent ATC-commissioned jury as one of the **Top Seismic Programs of the 20th Century**. NEHRP was selected from a long list of highly respected candidate programs identified as a result of the Call for Nominations distributed by ATC in early January 2006. This award, which recognizes the great significance of NEHRP in earthquake hazard reduction, will be presented at the gala "black-tie" ATC-ENR Awards Dinner from 8:00 pm to 11:00 pm on April 17, 2006 at the Westin St. Francis Hotel in San Francisco. We invite you and representatives from each of the four NEHRP agencies (Federal Emergency Management Agency, National Science Foundation, NIST, and U. S. Geological Survey) to accept the award on behalf of NEHRP. An Award will be presented to each agency. The award will also be announced in the April 17, 2006 issue of ENR magazine.

The gala ATC-ENR Awards Dinner program will include brief tributes to two former ATC Board presidents and the presentation of awards to:

- The top U. S. seismic engineers of the 20th century;
- The top U.S. seismic projects of the 20th century;
- The top U. S. seismic products and programs of the 20th century; and
- Recipients of ATC Awards of Excellence (individuals recognized by ATC for extraordinary achievement in a given technical area or other ATC activity)

This is a fund-raising event, and net proceeds from the sale of tables and individual tickets will be deposited in ATC's *Henry J. Degenkolb Memorial Endowment Fund*, which was established in honor of a dedicated structural engineer who gave outstanding technical support to the Applied Technology Council and its projects. The purpose of the *Fund* is to support projects of critical importance to structural engineering design practice, for which funds are not available from traditional funding sources.

We are delighted that NEHRP has been selected for this award and look forward to presenting a trophy on April 17 to a representative from each of the four NEHRP agencies. Could you please identify and contact the most appropriate representatives for this purpose, and advise them of our intentions. After you have identified each representative, could you also please send each of them a

Directors: Patrick Buscovich, Gregory G. Deierlein, Ramon Gilsanz, Lawrence G. Griffis, James R. Harris, Eve Hinman, David A. Hutchinson, Christopher P. Jones, Manuel Morden, H. John Price, James Robinson, Charles H. Thornton

copy of the attached ATC-ENR Awards Dinner Reservation Form, asking them to complete the form and send it back to ATC by April 12, 2006, if at all possible. Thank you.

Congratulations!

With best personal regards,

This (

Christopher Rojahn Executive Director