Fire Management Assistance Grant Program Resource Center
skip nav
Declaration Process
Grant Eligibility
Grant Administration
Job Aids
Statutes and Regulations


The Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) Fire Management Assistance Grant Program (FMAGP) is a disaster assistance grant program available to States, local governments, and Indian tribal governments intended to aid States and their communities with the mitigation, management, and control of fires burning on publicly or privately owned forests or grasslands that threaten such destruction as would constitute a major disaster.

This resource center is primarily focused on presenting the roles and responsibilities associated with the four main areas of the FMAGP - Declaration Process, Eligibility, Grant Administration, and Policies. Another way to understand the requirements associated with the FMAGP is to focus on a three-phased approach: Pre-Declaration, Declaration, and Post-Declaration. This three-phased approach is addressed in detail in the Roles & Responsibilities Job Aid available in the Job Aids section of this site.

Click on this link for a general overview of the FMAGP.

General Overview of the FMAGP

The FMAGP is effective for all fires declared on or after October 30, 2001. The FMAGP replaced FEMA’s Fire Suppression Assistance Program when Section 420 of the Stafford Act was amended by Section 303 of the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000 (DMA 2000).

The FMAGP provides assistance for mitigation, management, and control of a declared fire. Obtaining assistance under the FMAGP begins with the State submitting a declaration request to the FEMA Regional Director. The declaration request is made while the fire is burning uncontrolled and threatening such destruction as would constitute a major disaster. Following FEMA’s approval of the declaration request, funding assistance is requested by the State and made available for eligible activities that include fire management assistance and associated emergency work.

The FMAGP is authorized under Section 420 of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Act, 42 U.S.C. 5187, as amended by the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000. When providing assistance under this section, the President coordinates with State and Tribal governments.

The President may use the authority provided under Section 403, Essential Assistance of the Stafford Act (also considered to be Public Assistance Category B (Emergency Work)). FEMA has promulgated implementing regulations in 44 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 204.

Back to Top