United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitors Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
Origins & Development
Historical Minutes
Special Collections
Graphic Arts
Oral History


Inaugural Luncheon

The Inaugural Luncheon serves as Congress’s formal welcome to the new President and Vice President.  While the first luncheon was held at the U.S. Capitol in 1897, it was not until 1953 that the current tradition of hosting a luncheon for the newly-elected leaders was established.  The event has been held in National Statuary Hall since 1981, and since 1985 a painting has been selected to serve as a backdrop for the head table.  The painting reflects the official theme of each year's Inaugural ceremony.

1985  Ronald W. Reagan
 George H. W. Bush
1985 Inaugural Luncheon
1989  George H. W. Bush
 J. Danforth Quayle
1989 Inaugural Luncheon
1993  William J. Clinton
 Albert A. Gore, Jr.
1993 Inaugural Luncheon
1997  William J. Clinton
 Albert A. Gore, Jr.
1997 Inaugural Luncheon
2001  George W. Bush
 Richard B. Cheney
2001 Inaugural Luncheon
2005 George W. Bush
Richard B. Cheney
2001 Inaugural Luncheon