United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitors Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
Origins & Development
Historical Minutes
Special Collections
Graphic Arts
Oral History


"I Do Solemnly Swear": A Half Century of Inaugural Images

Harper's Weekly Inauguration Number 1897

On March 4, 1801, Thomas Jefferson walked the short distance from his boardinghouse to the nearby Capitol Building to take the oath of office as president of the United States.  At a joint session of Congress convened in the Senate Chamber, he became the first president inaugurated in the new federal city of Washington.  The government had moved from Philadelphia just months before, and Jefferson's capital was a city of unfinished buildings and muddy roads.

As the nation grew in size, railroads cut travel time and presidential inaugurations increased proportionately in scope.  Barely a thousand people attended Thomas Jefferson's 1801 inauguration, but in 1853 a crowd of 20,000 gathered on the East Front of the Capitol to watch Franklin Pierce become the 14th president of the United States.  By Pierce’s time, the emergence of the illustrated weekly newspaper also brought the inauguration into the homes of people around the nation.  A new technique in the engraving process enabled such publications as Frank Leslie’s Illustrated Newspaper and Harper’s Weekly to publish images of inaugural festivities and give them wide distribution within a week.  By cutting a wooden engraving block into several pieces, numerous artisans could work on a single image at once, drastically reducing production time.

This exhibit features the historic engravings in the U.S. Senate Collection that depict inaugural festivities at the Capitol and around Washington, D.C.   It begins with the 1853 inauguration, when the great 19th century weekly news magazines began to come into their own, and ends with 1905, a time when photographic techniques had largely overtaken the use of engraved images in news periodicals.

Click on the images at right to view the historical print collection.

1853 Franklin Pierce
1857 James Buchanan
1861 Abraham Lincoln
1865 Abraham Lincoln
1869 Ulysses S. Grant
1873 Ulysses S. Grant
1877 Rutherford B. Hayes
1881 James A. Garfield
1885 Grover Cleveland
1889 Benjamin Harrison
1893 Grover Cleveland
1897 William McKinley
1901 William McKinley
1905 Theodore Roosevelt

Explore the Senate's Art with the Office of the Senate Curator.

Have questions about Senate art?  Email the curator.

The United States Senate Catalogue of Fine Art  and the United States Senate Catalogue of Graphic Art illustrate the diversity of the Senate's art collection.

View additional publications about Senate art and historic spaces.