Announcement

from the Copyright Office, Library of Congress, Washington, B.C. 20540

REGISTRATION FOR FOREIGN SOUND RECORDINGS

Copyright for Sound Recordings in General

Public Law 92-140 amends the United States Copyright Law to provide for the protection of sound recordings against their unauthorized reproduction and distribution to the public. It pertains to sound recordings fixed and published on or after February 15, 1972. To secure protection, the published copies of a sound recording must bear a notice of copyright consisting of the symbol P (the letter P in a circle), the year of first publication of the sound recording, and the name of the copyright owner. After the sound recording has been published with the copyright notice, the copyright claim is to be registered in the Copyright Office. For further information, please see Circular 56, which accompanies this Announcement.

Foreign Sound Recordings

Copyright registration may be made for sound recordings the authors of which are citizens of the foreign countries listed below. These are the countries to which protection under the United States copyright law is extended by proclamations of the President evidencing special bilateral copyright relations between the United States and the particular foreign country.

To be eligible for registration, the sound recording must have been fixed and published on or after February 15, 1972, and all published copies must bear the required notice of copyright.

Registration for sound recordings the authors of which are foreign citizens, and which are first published in a foreign country, is obtained by sending to the Register of Copyrights, Library of Congress, Washington, D. C. 20540, one complete copy of the best edition of the published sound recording, together with an application on Form N duly completed and signed, and a fee of \$6. (Under certain conditions, registration for a foreign work may be obtained without payment of the fee; see the accompanying Circular 4A.)

COUNTRIES DESIGNATED IN PROCLAMATIONS

OF THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES

Argentina Australia Austria Belgium Brazil Canada Chile China Costa Rica Cuba

Czechoslovakia

Denmark Finland France Germany Greece Hungary India Ireland

Israel Italy Luxembourg Mexico Monaco Netherlands New Zealand Norway Philippines Poland Portuga 1 Romania South Africa Spain

Sweden

Switzerland Thailand

United Kingdom