Copyright Office Library of Congress Washington, D.C. 20559



## NATIONAL COPYRIGHT ADVISORY COMMITTEE APPOINTED

The Library of Congress has established a national Copyright Advisory Committee to consult with and advise the Register of Copyrights and the staff of the Copyright Office. The Librarian of Congress, Dr. Daniel Boorstin, at the recommendation of the Register of Copyrights, Mr. David Ladd, has named the first board of distinguished copyright experts to serve on the Committee. The members chosen are representative of the various communities vitally interested in copyright issues—authors, producers, book publishers, libraries, performing rights associations, the bar, and the news media.

The Register of Copyrights, David Ladd, convened the first meeting of the Committee on April 13 in New York City at the House of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York. A principal topic at that meeting was the concern of the copyright community with the future of copyright relations with the People's Republic of China. Because the Copyright Office was preparing to send a delegation to the People's Republic to discuss copyright issues in June 1981, the Register of Copyrights consulted with the Committee members on this timely issue. At the April meeting the members of the Committee also considered another international issue —the question of business and contracting practices in foreign nations with copyright systems that neither require formalities such as notice of copyright nor maintain systems of copyright registration.

From time to time the Committee may be called upon by the Register to assist the Copyright Office in its continuing review of its policies, proposed programs for improving public service, and international copyright activities. The Committee will meet at the call of the Register of Copyrights, at least once a year, or as often as he

believes there are issues to which the Committee could contribute.

Mr. Ladd expressed his belief that the Committee would bring to the Copyright Office the views of a wide perspective of persons and groups interested in copyright and provide fresh insight into the concerns of copyright owners, users, and other members of the public.

Newly appointed to the Copyright Advisory Committee are Morton David Goldberg, Esq., of Schwab, Goldberg & Dannay, who will serve as Chairman of the Committee; Eugene N. Aleinikoff, Esq., of Dannenberg, Hazen & Lake; Jon A. Baumgarten, Esq., of Paskus, Gordon & Hyman; E. Fulton Brylawski, Esq., of Brylawski & Cleary; Leonard Feist, President of the National Music Publishers Association: Jack C. Goldstein, Esq., of Arnold, White & Durkee; Alan J. Hartnick, Esq., of Colton, Weissberg, Hartnick & Yamin; Walter J. Josiah, Jr., Esq., of Paramount Pictures Corporation; Irwin Karp, Esq., of the Authors Guild, Inc.; Alan Latman, Esq., of Cowan, Liebowitz & Latman; Bella L. Linden, Esq., of Linden & Deutsch; Paul Marks, Esq., of the American Society of Composers. Authors and Publishers: John A. Marshall, Esq., of the Christian Science Center; Ernest S. Meyers, Esq.; Professor Melville B. Nimmer of the UCLA Law School; Harry R. Olsson, Esq., of CBS Inc.; E. Gabriel Perle, Esq., of Time Incorporated; Barbara A. Ringer, Esq., of Spencer & Kaye; Harry N. Rosenfield, Esq.; Stanley Rothenberg, Esq., of Moses and Singer; Robert Wedgeworth, of the American Library Association: Theodora Zavin, Esq., of Broadcast Music Inc.; Harry G. Henn, Esq., of Cornell University Law School; and Dan Lacy, of McGraw Hill, Inc. Committee members will serve as honorary consultants to the Library of Congress without compensation for one-year terms.