MEDIA ADVISORY

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE NOVEMBER 30, 2007 <u>CONTACT</u>: ROBERT LERNER 202/376-7700

CIVIL RIGHTS COMMISSION TO EXAMINE WHETHER MINORITIES ARE MISPLACED IN SPECIAL EDUCATION

What: Briefing of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, an independent, bipartisan agency charged with monitoring and protecting civil rights

WASHINGTON, DC - The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights has assembled a panel of experts to discuss whether minorities are frequently misplaced into special education programs. While research has long shown that non-Asian minorities make up a disproportionate number of students assigned to special education, there is disagreement concerning the reasons for this disproportion. Some of the reasons to be discussed by our panel of experts include: poor reading skills, limited English proficiency, perverse financial incentives, poor teacher training and instruction, disparate treatment, and the achievement gap.

The speakers will include The Honorable Stephanie Monroe, Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights at the U.S. Department of Education, Dr. Martin Gould, Director of Technology and Research at the National Council on Disability, Reginald Felton, Director of Federal Relations at the National School Boards Association, Dr. Matthew Ladner, Vice President of Research for the Goldwater Institute, Dr. Daniel Reschly, Professor of Education and Psychology in Peabody College, Vanderbilt University, Hilary O. Shelton, Director of the Washington Bureau of the National Association of the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), Peter A. Zamora, the Washington, D.C. Regional Counsel for the Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund (MALDEF), and William H. Hurd, of counsel with Troutman Sanders.

When: Monday, December 3, 2007, 10:00 a.m.

Where: U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, 624 Ninth Street NW, Room 540 Washington, DC

###

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with monitoring federal civil rights enforcement. Members include Chairman Gerald A. Reynolds, Vice Chairman Abigail Thernstrom, and Commissioners Jennifer C. Braceras, Gail Heriot, Peter N. Kirsanow, Arlan D. Melendez, Ashley L. Taylor, Jr., and Michael Yaki. Kenneth L. Marcus is Staff Director. Commission meetings are open to the media and general public.