Skip Navigation
Back To Newsroom


 Press Releases  

Senate Majority Leader Announces Anticipates Committee Chairmanships for 111th Congress

December 15, 2008


Washington, DC- Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid today announced that he has made his recommendations to the Senate Democratic Steering and Outreach Committee regarding Committee Chairmanships for the 111th Congress.   Final approval will be ratified with an Organizing Resolution when the Senate returns to session in January.  Committee membership and ratios have yet to be resolved.

"I am pleased to recommend these capable men and women to chair the Senate's Committees during the 111th Congress. We have much work to do and many challenges facing our nation. I know that these Senators will be able to deliver on the change that the American people have called for to help move our country in the right direction."

The following are the list of anticipated Chairmanships for the 111th Congress:
Senator Herb Kohl, Chairman, Senate Special Committee on Aging
Senator Tom Harkin, Chairman, Senate Committee on Agriculture
Senator Daniel Inouye, Chairman, Senate Committee on Appropriations
Senator Carl Levin, Chairman, Senate Committee on Armed Services
Senator Christopher Dodd, Chairman, Senate Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs
Senator Kent Conrad, Chairman, Senate Committee on Budget
Senator John D. Rockefeller IV, Chairman, Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation
Senator Jeff Bingaman, Chairman, Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources
Senator Barbara Boxer, Chairwoman, Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works
Senator Max Baucus, Chairman, Senate Committee on Finance
Senator John Kerry, Chairman, Senate Committee on Foreign Relations (upon the resignation of Senator Joseph Biden)
Senator Edward Kennedy, Chairman, Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions
Senator Joseph Lieberman, Chairman, Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs
Senator Byron Dorgan, Chairman, Senate Committee on Indian Affairs
Senator Dianne Feinstein, Chairwoman, Senate Intelligence Committee
Senator Patrick Leahy, Chairman, Senate Committee on Judiciary
Senator Charles Schumer, Chairman, Senate Committee on Rules and Administration
Senator Mary Landrieu, Chairwoman, Senate Committee on Small Business and Entrepreneurship (upon resignation of Senator Joseph Biden and Senator John Kerry assuming Chair of Foreign Relations)
Senator Daniel Akaka, Chairman, Senate Committee on Veterans Affairs
**Senate Committee on Ethics Chairperson will be recommended by the Senate Majority Leader and adopted by Senate resolution
**Joint Economic Committee Chairperson alternates with each Congress. The House of Representatives will chair the Committee in the 111th Congress


Year: [2008] , 2007 , 2006 , 2005 , 2004 , 2003 , 2002 , 2001 , 2000 , 1999 , 1900

December 2008

Back to top Back to top