A Guide to Finding Business Information at the Library of Congress

XV. Business Education and Vocational Opportunities

The Business Reading Room reference collection contains more books on business education and vocational guidance than can be listed here. Selected sources are listed below. New books on these subjects keep appearing, so researchers should consult those listed below, and additionally should browse the relevant reference shelves in the Business Reading Room. Resum‚ guidance books occupy an entire shelf at HF5382.

                        BUSINESS EDUCATION


Barron's guide to graduate business schools. -- Woodbury, N.Y. :
Barron's Educational Series. -- Biennial.
                                                                  
                                              HF1131.B375 Ref Desk


The Insider's guide to the top ten business schools / Tom
Fischgrund, editor. -- 5th ed. -- Boston : Little, Brown and Co.,
c1993. -- xviii, 328 pp. : ill.
                                                                  
                                                   HF1131.I57 1993

         Evaluations are given by recent graduates.


The student access guide to the best business schools / by Nedda
Gilbert. -- New York : Villard Books, 1994. -- xviii, 263 pp.
                                                                  
                                           HF1131.G5 1994 Ref Desk


Top business schools : the ultimate guide / Bruce S. Stuart, Kim D.
Stuart. -- New York : Arco Prentice Hall Press, c1990. -- xxiv, 303
pp. : ill.
                                                                  
                                                   HF1131.S87 1990


The Official guide for GMAT review / prepared for the Graduate
Management Admission Council by Educational Testing Service. --
Princeton, N.J. : ETS. -- Biennial.
                                                                  
                                                        HF1118.O33


How to prepare for the graduate management admission test, GMAT /
by Eugene D. Jaffe, Stephen Hilbert. -- 10th ed. -- Haupage, N.Y.
: Barron's, c1994. -- x, 575 pp. : ill.
                                                                  
                                                      HD30.413.J33



                        VOCATIONAL OPPORTUNITIES


Occupational outlook handbook / U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of
Labor Statistics. -- Washington, D.C. : The Bureau. -- Biennial.
                                                                  
                                               HD8051.A62 Ref Desk

         This standard source describes and analyzes the
requirements and projections for two hundred occupations.


Dictionary of occupational titles / U.S. Department of Labor,
Employment and Training Administration, U.S. Employment Service. --
4th ed., rev. 1991. -- [Washington, D.C.] : The Administration
[Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., distributor], 1991. -- 2 v. (xxxvii,
1404 pp.).
                                                                  
                                          HB2595.D53 1991 Ref Desk

         Provides descriptions of the majority of occupations in
this country.


The American almanac of jobs and salaries. -- New York, N.Y. :
Avon.
                                                                  
                                                     HD8038.U5 A68


Handbook and guide for selecting a career and preparing for the
future -- New 1987-88 ed. -- New York, N.Y. : Research and
Education Association, c1987. -- xxix, 578 pp. : ill.
                                                                  
                                              HF5382.5.U5 H34 1987

         Includes bibliographies.


Career choices for students of business / by Career Associates. --
New York : Walker, 1985. -- 159, [7] pp.
                                                                  
                                             HF5382.5.U5 C255 1985

         Bibliography: pp. [160]-[161].


The Career guide : Dun's employment opportunities directory. --
Parsippany, N.J. : Dun's Marketing Services. -- Annual.
                                                                  
                                          HF5382.5.U5 D86 Ref Desk

         Profiles five thousand companies as employers by industry,
geographically, and alphabetically; includes branch offices.


The National job bank. -- [1st ed.]-  -- Brighton, Mass : B. Adams.
                                                                  
                                          HF5382.5.U5 N34 Ref Desk

         Presents data for eighty-four hundred companies organized
by state.


The Metropolitan Washington job bank. -- Boston, MA : Bob Adams,
Inc. -- Annual.
                                                                  
                                         HF5382.75.U6 M48 Ref Desk

         Lists primary employers and employment listing centers, as
well as giving an overview of federal job prospects and process. 
The Business Reading Room holds Job Bank guides to many cities. To
consult these guides, browse in the HF5382 area of the reference
collection.


The Career-changer's sourcebook / Gene R. Hawes. -- New York, N.Y.
: Facts on File, c1986. -- 168 pp.                                
                                  
                                                    HF5384.H38 1986