A Guide to Finding Business Information at the Library of Congress

III. Frequently Used Sources

Familiarity with the location and contents of business reference sources will enable researchers to answer their own basic business questions, and to refine and focus their more difficult queries.

The latest editions of these sources are shelved in the Business Reading Room. Some are kept at the reference desk.

General Works

Business information sources Lorna M. Daniells. -- 3rd ed. -- Berkeley : University of California Press, c1993. -- xix, 725 pp.
LC Call Number: Z7164.C81 D16 1993 Ref Desk

A standard comprehensive bibliography for quick referral rather than thorough reading. One should consult the index to locate a description and explanation of a particular reference source, or for an analysis and comparison of the information available on a subject.

Commercial atlas & marketing guide Rand McNally and Company. -- Chicago : Rand McNally. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: G1019.R22 Ref Desk

How to find business intelligence in Washington by Washington Researchers Publishing. -- Washington, D.C. : Washington Researchers Pub. -- Annual. (Business research series ; 4).
LC Call Number: JK404.W37 Ref Desk

How to find information about companies by Washington Researchers. -- Washington, D.C. : Washington Researchers. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HD2771.H68 Ref Desk

Every beginning business researcher should read this book because it simply and concisely maps out the lay of the land of business information. An hour spent reading and browsing through this publication may shorten business research by many hours.

The Irwin business and investment almanac -- Burr Ridge, Ill. : Irwin Professional Pub. -- Annual. -- (Continues: Business One Irwin Business and Investment Almanac).
LC Call Number: HF5003.D68a Ref Desk

This work explains basic business and investment terms and includes statistical tables.

Moody's manuals

Known collectively as "Moody's manuals," and compiled from annual reports, 10-K reports and news releases, the following works summarize financial histories of publicly traded companies.

The appropriate bound volume may be used to find a company's history (including financials) up to last year, followed by examination of the looseleaf companion volume for new information. The set is comprised of many volumes, arranged by type of company. An updated index volume is kept in the Business Reading Room. The Library has a full set of older editions of Moody's Manuals on microfiche, available through the Microform Reading Room using the call number (o) 86/4 MicRR.

Moody's bank and finance manual. -- [New York] : Moody's Investors Service.
LC Call Number: HG4961.M65

Updated by the semi-weekly: Moody's Bank & Finance. News reports.

Moody's industrial manual. -- New York : Moody's Investors Service. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HG4961.M67 Updated by the semi-weekly: Moody's Industrial. News Reports.

Moody's municipal & government manual. -- New York : Moody's Investors Service.
LC Call Number: HG4931.M58

Updated by the semi-weekly: Moody's Municipal & Government. News Reports.

Moody's OTC industrial manual. -- New York : Moody's Investors Service. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HG4961.M7237

Updated by the semi-weekly: Moody's OTC Industrial. News Reports.

Moody's OTC unlisted manual. -- New York : Moody's Investors Service. Annual (with weekly updates).
LC Call Number: HG4907.M68

Moody's transportation manual. -- New York : Moody's Investors Service.
LC Call Number: HG4971.M74

Updated by: Moody's Transportation. News Reports.

Moody's international manual Moody's Investors Service. -- New York : The Service. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HG4009.M66

Updated by: Moody's International. News Reports.

Moody's complete corporate index. -- [New York] : Moody's Investors Service.
LC Call Number: HG4961.M66

Includes all corporations listed in the editions of Moody's manuals.

Standard & Poor's industry surveys Standard and Poor's Corporation. -- [New York] : Standard & Poor's Corp. -- Weekly.
LC Call Number: HC106.6.S74 Ref Desk

An up-to-date one stop source for an overview of the performance and prognosis for any of thirty-six categories of American industry, including specific information on top companies.

Encyclopedia of associations. -- Detroit : Gale Research Co. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: AS22.E5 Ref Desk

Provides information about trade associations, their publications, libraries, addresses, and telephone numbers. The data may include referrals to appropriate trade publications or experts, quick answers to a variety of questions, and current statistics. Many trade associations have headquarters in the Washington area, and permit the public to visit for reference purposes. Telephone before visiting.

Standard corporation descriptions Standard and Poor's Corporation. -- New York : Standard & Poor's Corp. -- Semimonthly.
LC Call Number: HG4501.S76635

A looseleaf set offering extensive information on U.S. public corporations, much like Moody's manuals. This set is updated with news bulletins every work day and is a good source for observing corporate change.

Thomas register of American manufacturers and Thomas register catalog file. -- New York : Thomas Pub. Co.--Annual.
LC Call Number: T12.T6

This multi-volume set, arranged by product, lists addresses of manufacturers. Included are sample manufacturers' catalogs for many firms. The older volumes (going back to 1905) are valuable for historical research.

Encyclopedia of business information sources. -- Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research Co. -- Triennial.
LC Call Number: Z7164.C81 E93 Ref Desk

International business reference sources : developing a corporate library Cynthia C. Ryans. -- Lexington, Mass. : LexingtonBooks, c1983. -- xvii, 195 pp. -- (The LexingtonBooks special series in libraries and librarianship).
LC Call Number: Z7164.C8 R9 1983 Ref Desk

Contents: Government publications -- Subscriptions and continuations (journals, annuals, loose-leaf services) -- International business data sources (directories, almanacs, handbooks) -- International business books (marketing, finance, economics) -- Appendix: Additional names and addresses of organizations where country and product data may be obtained.

Money, banking, and macroeconomics : a guide to information sources James M. Rock ; foreword by Axel Leijonhufvud. -- Detroit : Gale Research Co., c1977. -- xviii, 281 pp. -- (Economics information guide series ; v. 11) (Gale information guide library).
LC Call Number: Z7164.F5 R63 Dictionaries

Dictionary of business and economics Christine Ammer, Dean S. Ammer. -- New York : Free Press, c1977. -- x, 461 pp. : ill.
LC Call Number: HB61.A53 Ref Desk

The McGraw-Hill dictionary of modern economics : a handbook of terms and organizations [edited by] Douglas Greenwald in collaboration with Henry C.F. Arnold ... [et al.]. -- 3rd ed. -- New York : McGraw-Hill, c1983. -- xiii, 632 pp.
LC Call Number: HB61.M3 1983

The New Palgrave dictionary of money & finance edited by Peter Newman, Murray Milgate, John Eatwell. - - London, New York : MacMillan Press Ltd., 1992. -- 3 v. : ill.
LC Call Number: HG151.N48 1992

The Penguin dictionary of economics Graham Bannock, R.E. Baxter, and Evan Davis. -- 5th ed. -- London ; New York, N.Y., : Penguin Books, 1992. -- 448 pp. : ill. -- (Penguin reference books).
LC Call Number: HB61.B33 1992

The MIT dictionary of modern economics edited by David W. Pearce. -- 4th ed. -- Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, 1992. -- x, 474 pp. : ill.
LC Call Number: HB61.P4 1992

Contents: Growth of real national income -- Rate of inflation -- Standardized unemployment rates -- Balance of payments current account as percentage of national income.

The New Palgrave : a dictionary of economics edited by John Eatwell, Murray Milgate, Peter Newman. -- London : Macmillan ; New York : Stockton Press ; Tokyo : Maruzen, 1987. -- 4 v. : ill.
LC Call Number: HB61.N49 1987

Includes bibliographies.

Directories

The Hulbert guide to financial newsletters Mark Hulbert. -- Chicago, Ill. : Dearborn Financial Pub. Co., c1993. -- 574 pp.
LC Call Number: HG4529.H86 1993 Ref Desk

Investment newsletter contacts. -- New York : BPI Media Services.
LC Call Number: Z7164.F5I58 Ref Desk

A comprehensive directory of investment newsletters identifying readership, subject coverage and editors. No longer published.

Directory of business and financial services editors, Mary McNierney Grant, Riva Berleant-Schiller. -- 8th ed. -- New York : Special Libraries Association, c1984. -- x, 189 pp.
LC Call Number: HG151.7.D57 1984 Ref Desk

Directory of industry data sources. The United States of America and Canada.-- Cambridge, Mass : Ballinger Pub. Co. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: Z7165.U5 D59 Ref Desk

Directory of companies required to file annual reports with the Securities and Exchange Commission under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, alphabetically and by industry groups. -- Washington, D.C. : Securities and Exchange Commission : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O.
LC Call Number: HG4057.A216 Ref Desk

SEC filing companies. -- Bethesda, MD : Disclosure Inc. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HG4057.A42 Ref Desk

Standard & Poor's register of corporations, directors and executives, United States and Canada. -- New York : Standard & Poor's Corp. (1963-72: Poor's Register of Corporations, ...).
LC Call Number: HG4057.A4 Ref Desk

A three-volume set, updated annually, listing over 55,000 public and private companies located primarily in the United States. Listings provide addresses, names of officers, directors, the corporate accounting firm, the primary bank, and legal representative It identifies the exchange in which company stock is traded (if a public company), and the SIC code. It provides annual sales figures and the number of employees.

Million dollar directory Dun & Bradstreet. -- New York, N.Y. : Dun & Bradstreet, Inc. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HC102.D8 Ref Desk

This multi-volume set has entries for over 160,000 public and private companies and subsidiaries in the United States. The address, annual sales, number of employees, year established, SIC code, and the names of senior executives are provided. Also available online to patrons onsite.

Dun's regional business directory. Washington DCBaltimore area. -- Parsippany, NJ : Dun & Bradstreet Information Services. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HG4058.W3 D86 Ref Desk

Published for each of the 50 Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area's (SMSA's) throughout the country. Updated annually, the information in each three-volume set is arranged by SIC code, alphabetically by company name, and geographically by community and zip code within the SMSA. Statistical information on sales ranking, number of employees, and employment by industry (using the SIC codes) is provided. This collection is grouped together and shelved with the state industrial directory collection. The only exception is the set for the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area, shelved in the Reference Desk collection of the Business Reading Room.

The Book of lists : a reference guide to the Washington area's leading industries. -- McLean, Va. : American City Business Publications. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HG4058.W3 B66 Ref Desk

A compilation of the lists published weekly in the Washington Business Journal. The lists rank the top 50 to 100 local firms in a particular endeavor such as consulting, automobile dealers, builders, engineering firms, etc.

The Sourcebook of zip code demographics. -- Census ed. -- Arlington, VA : CACI Marketing Systems. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HA203.S67 Ref Desk

Offers detailed demographic information for each zip code based on the most recent U.S census. Arranged by state and then numerically by zip code within the state. The zip code profile includes age, race and sex distribution, household size and components, income levels, available housing stock, and information of the composition of the labor force.

Ward's business directory of U.S. private and public companies. -- Detroit : Gale Research. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HG4057.A575 Ref Desk

This multi-volume directory provides information on more companiesÄpublic, private, small and largeÄthan any other company directory. It identifies officers, and provides full addresses and phone numbers. It also ranks company sales within the Standard Industrial Code (SIC) categories and within zip code designations.

The Directory of directories. -- Detroit : Information Enterprises distributed by Gale Research Co. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: Z5771.D55 Ref Desk

Many industries are included in the specialized directories listed in this reference work. The Library holds many of these directories. If a directory is not in the Business Reading Room, use the MUMS database (not SCORPIO), to determine whether is in the Library's collections.

Brands and their companies. -- Detroit, MI : Gale Research. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: T223.V4A25

Companies and their brands. -- Detroit, MI : Gale Research. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: T223.V4A253

International brands and their companies. -- Detroit, MI : Gale Research. -- Biennial.
LC Call Number: HD69.B7I58

International companies and their brands. -- Detroit, MI : Gale Research. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HF54.U5I55

Dun's business identification service. -- [Parsippany, N.J.] : D & B. -- Semiannual.
LC Call Number: Microfiche (w) 83/307

This directory lists names and addresses of numerous companies, including the tiny and obscure. It offers Dun's numbers (unique numerical identifiers common to all Dun & Bradstreet business reference sources) but omits zip codes.

Standard directory of advertisers. -- Geographical [ed.]. -- New York, N.Y. : National Register Pub. Co. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HF5805.S7 Ref Desk

Specifies who makes an advertised product, what else they make, and whom to contact for further information.

Specialized Directories

Phelon's ... discount jobbing trade. -- Fairview, N.J. : Phelon, Sheldon & Marsar, Inc. -- Biennial.
LC Call Number: HF5035.P48

Lockwood-Post's directory of the pulp, paper, and allied trades. -- San Francisco, Calif. : Miller Freeman Publications. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: TS1088.L79

Thomas food industry register. -- New York, N.Y. : Thomas Pub. Co. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HD9321.3.T5

O'Dwyer's directory of public relations firms. -- New York, N.Y. : J.R. O'Dwyer Co. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HM263.O37 Ref Desk

Standard directory of advertising agencies. -- Skokie, Ill. [etc.] : National Register Publishing Co. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HF5805.S72 Ref Desk

O'Dwyer's directory of corporate communications. -- New York : J.R. O'Dwyer Co. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HD59.O35a

Lists corporate public affairs contacts and their "outside PR counsel" and similar information for many trade associations.

Who services corporate America. -- [Bethesda, MD] : Disclosure Inc. ; [Wilmette, IL] : National Register Pub. Co. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HG4057.A58

Lists companies' legal firms, transfer agents, auditors, and pension fund managers.

National directory of corporate public affairs. -- Washington, D.C. : Columbia Books. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HD59.N24

Includes the dollar volume figures for individual corporate contributions to foundations and political action committees. Lists corporate officers and if and where they are registered lobbyists.

Directory of corporate counsel. -- Englewood Cliffs, NJ, etc. : Prentice Hall Law & Business [etc.]. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: KF195.C6 D57

The Corporate finance bluebook. -- New York, N.Y. : Zehring Pub. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HG4057.A15647 Ref Desk

Corporate 500. The Directory of corporate philanthropy. -- San Francisco : Public Management Institute. -- Annual, with quarterly updates.
LC Call Number: HV97.A3 C63 Ref Desk

Regional Industrial Directories

The Business Reading Room maintains a large separate collection of directories arranged by geographic location. These are usually alphabetical lists of manufacturers in individual states. Some include listings by city or by SIC code. Ask reference librarian for assistance.

Corporate Affiliation Sources

Researchers often need to identify corporate financial relationships. No single published source lists all parent companies and subsidiaries, but several sources on open shelves in the Business Reading Room cover the field well.

The primary resource for this type of research is the company's 10-K report, filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission, 450 Fifth Street NW, Washington, D.C. 20549. These annual reports, freely available for photocopying, list plant locations and subsidiaries for U.S. publicly held corporations. Some of these 10-K reports are in a microfiche collection, the SEC file.

The following directories list parents and subsidiaries for both public and private firms:

Directory of corporate affiliations. -- Skokie, Ill. : National Register Pub. Co. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HG4057.A217 Ref Desk

Described as "Who owns whom, the family tree of every major corporation in America," the directory is indexed by name (parent and subsidiary), geographic location, Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Code, and corporate responsibility. Includes parent companies, divisions, subsidiaries, and affiliates.

Who owns whom. -- North American edition. -- London : O.W. Roskill. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HG4009.W46 Vol. 2

This multi-volume series is made up of geographic directories as listed below.

Who owns whom: United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland. -- London : Who Owns Whom Ltd. -- Annual
LC Call Number: HG4009.W46 Vols. 3-4

Who owns whom: Continental Europe. -- High Wycombe, England [etc.] : Dun & Bradstreet. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HG4009.W46 Vol. 5

Who owns whom: Australasia and Far East. -- High Wycombe, England [etc.] : Dun & Bradstreet International [etc.]. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HG4009.W46 Vol. 1

America's corporate families : the billion dollar directory. -- Parsippany, N.J. : Dun's Marketing Services. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HG4057.A147 Ref Desk

Lists parents and subsidiaries for U.S. firms.

America's corporate families and international affiliates. -- Parsippany, N.J. : Dun's Marketing Services. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HG4057.A146 Ref Desk

Lists parent companies and subsidiaries for multi-nationals.

Financial and Operating Ratio Sources

Operating ratios are a convenient format for measurement and comparison of company and/or industry performance. The following are useful sources:

Analyzing ratios : a perceptive approach Jerry A. Viscione. -- New York, N.Y. : Publications Division, National Association of Credit Management, c1983. -- xii, 123 pp.
LC Call Number: HF5681.R25 V57 1983

Includes bibliographical references.

Almanac of business and industrial financial ratios by Leo Troy. -- Englewood Cliffs, N.J. : Prentice-Hall. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HF5681.R25 A45 Ref Desk

Provides financial ratios for companies in various asset ranges, by SIC code. Data reported are based on aggregate numbers from IRS records.

Industry norms and key business ratios. -- [New York] : Dun & Bradstreet Credit Services. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HF5681.R25 I53 Ref Desk

Arranged by SIC code, this work includes financial data and important ratios from an aggregate number of establishments within an industry. Examination of this information establishes present and future norms from which a venture's performance can be judged.

Annual statement studies Robert Morris Associates. -- [Philadelphia] : Robert Morris Associates.
LC Call Number: HF5681.B2 R6 Ref Desk Several years of this source are on reference.

S&P's analyst's handbook. -- New York, N.Y. : Standard & Poor's Corp. -- Annual. -- (Continues: Analyst's handbook).
LC Call Number: HG4905.A66

"Ratios applied to S&P's industry group stock price indexes from 1954 to date."

Industry Information Sources

Much business information is organized according to industry category. In addition to the industry sources listed below, researchers are reminded to check sources listed in chapters 2, 3, and 12 of this guide.

U.S. global trade outlook. -- [Washington, D.C.]: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Industry and Trade Administration [etc.] : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HC101.U54 Ref Desk

Emphasis on the globalization of America's industries. Forecasts trade and foreign markets for U.S. industries through the year 2000, and provides substantive details about the industries as well as the target markets. Replaces the U.S. Industrial Outlook, which ceased publication in 1994.

Census of manufactures (1987). Industry series. -- [Washington, D.C.] : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., [1990]. -- 83 v.
LC Call Number: HD9724.C4 1988a N&CPRR

Lists establishments and payroll, by industry

Standard & Poor's industry surveys Standard and Poor's Corporation. -- [New York] : Standard & Poor's Corp. -- Quarterly.
LC Call Number: HC106.6.S74 Ref Desk

An essential, up-to-date source for tracking the performance and prognosis (with narrative and statistics) of 21 major industry categories and several hundred individual companies.

Directory of industry data sources. The United States of America and Canada. -- Cambridge, Mass. : Ballinger Pub. Co. (Ceased publication with 1983 ed.). -- Annual.
LC Call Number: Z7165.U5 D59 Ref Desk

Although dated, this publication will provide the researcher with many good leads for finding industry statistical reports and identifying special issues of journals focusing on specific industries. Volumes 1-3 cover the United States and Canada, and volume 4 covers Western Europe.

Standard & Poor's statistical service. Current statistics Standard and Poor's Corporation. -- New York, N.Y. : Standard & Poor's Corporation. -- Monthly.
LC Call Number: HC101.S74a Ref Desk

A regularly updated source of industry statistics.

Forbes magazine.-- New York : B.C. Forbes Pub. Co. -- Bimonthly.
LC Call Number: HF5001.F6 Ref Desk

A special issue (see chapter 3) on the state of American industry is published in the magazine each January.

Basebook Predicasts, inc. -- Cleveland, Ohio : Predicasts, inc. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HA214.P73a

Industry statistics to seven-digit SIC level.

PROMT, Predicasts overview of markets and technology. -- Cleveland, Ohio : Predicasts, inc. -- Monthly.
LC Call Number: HD9650.1.P16

Pulp & paper ... fact book. -- San Francisco, Calif. : Miller Freeman Publications. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HD9821.P84

Broadcasting & cable yearbook. -- New Providence, N.J. : R.R. Bowker. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HE8689.B77 Ref Desk

Nationwide directory. Major mass market merchandisers: exclusive of New York metropolitan area. -- New York, N.Y. : Salesman's Guide, Inc. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HD9940.U4 N47

National prescription audit : company report, ten year trend IMS America Ltd. -- Ambler, Pa. : IMS America Ltd.
LC Call Number: HD9665.4.I15a

Biographical Sources

Researching people in the world of business requires imagination and resourcefulness. After using a biographical directory and ascertaining basic information regarding education, residence, work history, family, etc., researchers have the necessary facts for further research. Many different sources can be useful: alumni directories, telephone books, membership rosters, local newspapers, corporate proxies, annual reports, 10-K's, magazine and newspaper reports, and congressional hearings.

The directories listed below are only a sampling of the many U.S. and international business and industry biographical directories shelved in the biography area of the Science and Business Reading Room.

Reference book of corporate managements Dun & Bradstreet. -- New York, N.Y. : Dun & Bradstreet, inc. - - Annual.
LC Call Number: HD2745.D85 Biog

Also available online to patrons onsite as part of the Million Dollar Directory.

Standard & Poor's register of corporations, directors and executives, United States and Canada. -- New York : Standard & Poor's Corp. (1963-72: Poor's Register of Corporations, ...).
LC Call Number: HG4057.A4 Ref Desk

A three-volume set, updated annually, listing over 55,000 public and private companies located primarily in the United States. Listings provide the address, officers and directors names, name of the corporate accounting firm, primary bank, legal representative, identify the exchange in which company stock is traded (if a public company), SIC code, annual sales and number of employees.

Biographical dictionary of American business leaders John N. Ingham. -- Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1983. -- 4 v. (xvi, 2026 pp.).
LC Call Number: HC102.5.A2 I53 1983 Biog

Indexed by industry, company, birthplace, birthday, and religion. Includes bibliographical references.

World who's who in finance and industry. -- Chicago : Marquis Who's Who. -- Biennial.
LC Call Number: HF3023.A2 W5 Biog

Who's who in black corporate America. -- Washington, DC : Who's Who in Black Corporate America. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HF5500.3.U54 W53 Biog

Owners & officers of private companies. -- Rockville, Md. : Taft Group. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: HD38.25.U6 O94 Biog

The Who's who of American business leaders. -- Lake Success, N.Y. : Who's Who Worldwide Registry, Inc. - - Annual.
LC Call Number: HD38.25.U6 W49 Biog

Who's who in advertising. -- Wilmette, Ill., U.S.A. : Marquis Who's Who.
LC Call Number: HF6178.W48 Biog

Newspaper and Periodical Indexes

Newspapers and periodicals are frequently the most useful sources of current business information. Reference books, with few exceptions, derive their information about companies from corporate annual reports and filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission (see chapter 2 of this guide). Newspaper and periodical articles are usually based on corporate press releases, newsworthy corporate events, and interviews with corporate officers, competitors, and customers. Information available from these sources is unique and should not be neglected by researchers.

Information on small, closely held, and private companies is often very difficult to obtain. Remember to check local newspapers from the towns in which the company's headquarters or plants are located. The CD-ROM Business Dateline, in the Business Network, can be extremely useful for this purpose. If the newspaper does not have a printed index, try telephoning a local public library (they often create their own index or maintain clipping files for local information), or the newspaper's editor or business writer for citations to relevant articles.

All English and European language newspapers held by the Library of Congress are available in the Newspaper and Current Periodical Reading Room (Room 133 in the James Madison Building) regardless of publication date. Magazines published within the last year (approximately) are also housed in NCPRR. Older bound magazines are shelved in the closed stacks of the Adams and/or Jefferson buildings, as are books. For these earlier issues one needs to look up the magazine's call number. The required volumes are then requested by call slip. Be sure to indicate the dates and/or volume numbers required. Some journals are held in microform only, and they may be requested in the Microform Reading Room, Room 107, 1st floor, Thomas Jefferson Building. For help in locating periodicals not listed otherwise, consult a reference librarian.

The Business Index, an online SCORPIO file searchable through the Library's LOCIS network, contains up-to-date citations to periodical articles about companies and other business related subjects. In addition, the following printed newspaper and periodical indexes, held in the Business Reading Room reference collection, will enable one to locate articles on specific companies, industries, subjects, or persons. Many of these indexes are also held in the Newspaper and Current Periodical Reading Room (LM 133):

Business periodicals index. -- New York : H. W. Wilson Co.
LC Call Number: Z7164.C81 B983

PROMT, Predicasts overview of markets and technology. -- Cleveland, Ohio : Predicasts, inc. -- Monthly.
LC Call Number: HD9650.1.P16

Abstracts and indexes articles on industries. Information is accessible by company name and by product where applicable, 1979-present.

F&S index United States annual. -- Foster City, Calif. : Information Access Company. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: Z7165.U5F23

Predicasts F & S index Europe annual. -- Cleveland, Ohio : Predicasts, inc. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: Z7165.E8 P73

Issued in three volumes: Vol. 1, Industries & Products; Vol. 2, Countries; Vol. 3, Companies.

F&S index international: companies, industries, products and applied technology. -- Foster City, Cal. : Information access. -- Monthly with annual cumulation.
LC Call Number: Z7164.C81 F13

Index of economic articles in journals and collective volumes prepared under the auspices of the American Economic Association. -- Homewood, Ill. : R.D. Irwin. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: Z7164.E2 I4812

Journal of economic literature. -- Nashville [etc.] : [American Economic Association]. -- Quarterly.
LC Call Number: HB1.J6

Public Affairs Information Service bulletin. -- New York : Public Affairs Information Service. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: Z7163.P9H96

Also available as CD-ROM with title: PAIS international.

The Official Washington post index. -- Woodbridge, Ct. : Research Publications. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: AI21.W33 W37

May provide local (Washington, D.C. area) business information.

The New York times index. -- New York : New York Times Co. -- Semimonthly with annual cumulations.
LC Call Number: AI21.N45

The Wall Street journal. Index. -- [New York] : Dow Jones & Co. -- Monthly with quarterly and annual cumulations.
LC Call Number: HG1.W26

The Dow Jones-Irwin guide to using the Wall Street journal Michael B. Lehmann. -- 3rd ed. -- Homewood, Ill. : Dow Jones-Irwin. -- xii, 382 pp. : ill.
LC Call Number: HB3743.L44 1990

Includes bibliographical references.

Special Issues of Periodicals

Much unique business information is available in "special issues" of periodicals. For example, Fortune magazine publishes a famous annual, Fortune 500, a ranked list of top corporate performers. The Forbes January issue is an extensive and well-documented study of the state of American industry. Institutional Investor annually ranks the top investment banking firms and gives financial data on them. Included are privately held firms which usually guard this information closely. Some industry journals publish annual directory issues, listing addresses and other pertinent information about companies in the industry.

The staff of Business Reading Room places special issues of some periodicals in a separate (vertical) file. In some cases the whole issue of the journal is retained; in other cases only some data is clipped or photocopied for the file. After using the aforementioned guides to special issues, consult a business reference librarian to see whether the issue you require is part of this special collection. If it has not been added to the file, then request it the same as any other periodical in the Library.

To locate special issues one may consult the following directories shelved in the Reference Desk Collection of Business Reading Room:

Special issues index : specialized contents of business, industrial, and consumer journals compiled by Robert Sicignano and Doris Prichard. -- Westport, Conn : Greenwood Press, 1982. -- ix, 309 pp.
LC Call Number: Z7164.C81 S624 1982 Ref Desk

Guide to industry special issues. -- Cambridge, Mass. : Harfax Ballinger Pub. Co. -- Annual.
LC Call Number: Z7164.C81 G84 Ref Desk

Locates and describes industry information published regularly in trade journals. Included are monthly features, annual supplements, rankings, statistics, directories, and buying guides.

Guide to special issues and indexes of periodicals Miriam Uhlan, editor. -- 3rd ed. -- New York : Special Libraries Association, c1985. -- vi, 160 pp.
LC Call Number: Z7164.C81 G85 1985 Ref Desk