New England Regional Water Program Advisory Committee Members February 2007

Purpose: We created the advisory committee at the request of CSREES to provide the New England Region Water Program with a formal network of expert advisors who can provide input on an ad hoc basis. We tailored our expectations to each individual member. In all cases, we provided a member of the advisory committee with briefing materials on the goals, structure and activities of the New England Program, with emphasis on programs that relate to their expertise.

Advisory committee members are contacted on an ad hoc basis to help us gain perspectives on specific problems or help us improve connections to partners and stakeholders. Each advisory committee member is linked to a specific individual related to their interests – either a Water Quality Coordinator or a focus area group leader.

Advisory Committee Members

Ralph Abele, Instream Flow Coordinator US EPA – Region 1 1 Congress Street Suite 1100 Mail Code: CWQ Boston, MA 02114-2023

617-918-1629 abele.ralph@epa.gov

Downing.jane@epa.gov

Jane Downing, Associate Director of Water US EPA – Region 1 One Congress Street, Suite 1100 Boston, MA 02114 Phone: 617 – 918-1517

Carrie Koplinka-Loehr, Co-director Northeastern IPM Center Insectary Building Cornell University, Ithaca NY 14853

phone: 607-255-8879 fax: 607-255-1720 ckk3@cornell.edu Trish Garrigan, US EPA – Region 1

One Congress Street, Suite 1100

Boston, MA 02114 Phone: (617) 918-1583

garrigan.trish@epamail.epa.gov

Roy Jeffrey, Extension Educator Agriculture and Natural Resources Program Leader Office of the Associate Director Cooperative Extension System University of Connecticut 1376 Storrs Road, U-4134 Storrs, CT 06269-4134 Phone 860 – 486 - 5962

Fax: 860 – 486 - 0264 Roy.jeffrey@uconn.edu

Barbara Miller USDA NRCS 451 West Street Amherst MA 01002-2995

Phone: 413-253-4350 Fax: 413-253-4375

Barbara.miller@ma.usda.gov

Dr. Tom Morris, Coordinator of Professional Development, NESARE Department of Plant Science 1376 Storrs Rd., Unit 4067 University of Connecticut Storrs, CT 06269-4067 phone: (860) 486-0637

thomas.morris@uconn.edu

Linda Schier,

Sea Grant Policy Advisory Committee; University of New Hampshire Marine Docent; President of Acton Wakefield Watersheds Alliance; President of the Great East Lake Improvement Association 450 Calef Highway Lee, New Hampshire 03824 Phone: 603-659-3302

Kathleen Stanley, Executive Director Water Systems Council National Programs Office 1101 30th Street, N.W., Suite 500 Washington, D.C. 20007 Phone: 202 625-4387

Lindabschier@comcast.net

yelnatsk@aol.com

John Peckenham, Senior Scientist and Assistant Director, University of Maine's Water Resources Institute Senator George Mitchell Center for Environmental and Watershed Research 102 Norman Smith Hall University of Maine Orono, ME 04469 Phone: (207) 581-3254 ipeck@maine.edu

Jeffrey R. Seemann
Dean, College of the Environment and
Life Sciences
Representative of the New England
Deans and Directors
University of Rhode Island
Director, RI Agricultural Experiment
Station
Director, RI Cooperative Extension
112 Woodward Hall

Phone: (401) 874-2957 jseemann@uri.edu