Home Information Sharing & Analysis Prevention & Protection Preparedness & Response Research Commerce & Trade Travel Security Immigration
About the Department Open for Business Press Room
Current National Threat Level is elevated

The threat level in the airline sector is High or Orange. Read more.

Homeland Security 5 Year Anniversary 2003 - 2008, One Team, One Mission Securing the Homeland

Homeland Security Secretary Michael Chertoff Honors Employees at Annual Awards Ceremony

Release Date: November 20, 2008

For Immediate Release
DHS Press Office
Contact: 202-282-8010

Fourth Annual Secretary’s Awards List of Honorees (PDF, 6 pages - 352 KB)

U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Secretary Michael Chertoff honored the department’s 218,000 employees today during its fourth annual awards ceremony to recognize the many accomplishments of its men and women. More than 150 award winners were recognized in eight categories across the department.

“Today’s ceremony is an opportunity for us to honor the contributions of employees across the department who served with honor and distinction over the past year,” said Secretary Chertoff. “Their hard work, professional excellence, and commitment to the department’s mission have set an example for all of us to follow, and I am proud today to recognize their achievements.”

The top award, the Secretary’s Gold Medal, was presented to Jayson P. Ahern, Deputy Commissioner for DHS’ U.S. Customs and Border Protection. This award is granted by the Secretary in recognition of exceptionally outstanding leadership or service that is distinguished by achievements of national or international significance, reflecting great credit on DHS and the federal government by markedly improving the security of our homeland.

The Secretary’s Silver Medal was awarded to 22 recipients in recognition of exceptionally meritorious service to the department, and to the federal government. The Silver Award is the second highest award granted by the department and recognizes exceptional individual leadership or service that is distinguished by achievements of marked significance over time to the department.

The Secretary’s Award for Valor was presented to 10 recipients. This award is the highest departmental recognition for extraordinary acts of valor by an employee, occurring while on or off duty. The award is given to employees who have demonstrated extraordinary courage in a highly dangerous, life-threatening situation or emergency under extreme stress and involving a specific act of valor, such as saving another person’s life or property.

Other award categories include the Secretary’s Award for Exemplary Service, the Secretary’s Award for Excellence, the Secretary’s Award for Team DHS Excellence, the Secretary’s Award for Outstanding Achievement in Diversity Management, and the Secretary’s Award for Volunteer Service.

For a list of award winners in each category, visit the fourth annual Secretary’s Awards list of honorees (PDF, 6 pages - 352 KB).


This page was last reviewed/modified on November 20, 2008.