Functional Series 200 Programming Policy

INTERIM UPDATE 05-02

SUBJECT: Tsunami Relief and Reconstruction Task Force

NEW MATERIAL: Acting Administrator Frederick Schieck has directed the immediate establishment of the Tsunami Relief and Reconstruction Task Force (TRR-TF). The Task Force will be responsible for setting USAID policy in response to the disaster in Asia, providing operational guidance of program activities, and recommending resource allocations for all programs in the affected countries.

EFFECTIVE DATE: 01/11/2005

This Notice was released 01/11/2005 as an Executive Message. It is being posted here for records purposes.

USAID/General Notice ADMINISTRATOR ES

01/11/2005

EXECUTIVE MESSAGE

SUBJECT: Tsunami Relief and Reconstruction Task Force

Acting Administrator Frederick Schieck has directed the immediate establishment of the Tsunami Relief and Reconstruction Task Force (TRR-TF). The Task Force will be responsible for setting USAID policy in response to the disaster in Asia, providing operational guidance of program activities, and recommending resource allocations for all programs in the affected countries. The Task Force does not replace or duplicate current efforts by the affected Missions or DCHA, which are undertaking the emergency humanitarian response. Rather, the Task Force will ensure a smooth transition from the relief to the reconstruction phase of the emergency, and provide complementarity between the efforts of DCHA and ANE. At this time, it is planned that the Task Force will be in operation for the period of one year. This may change, however, if events warrant.

The Task Force Secretariat will be chaired by the Deputy Administrator. William Garvelink, DAA/DCHA, and Mark Ward, DAA/ANE, will serve as co-Deputy Chairs. During the initial relief phase, Mr. Garvelink will serve as lead Deputy Chair. Mr. Ward will assume lead Deputy Chair responsibilities once the reconstruction phase begins. Elisabeth Kvitashvili, DCHA, will be designated as Director, Operational Management, during the initial phase, with Debbie Kennedy-Iraheta, ANE, acting as Deputy Director. Ms. Kennedy-Iraheta will assume the Director position once the transition to reconstruction has occurred, with Ms. Kvitashvili serving as Deputy Director.

Initially, the Task Force will consist of core staff from DCHA and ANE, representatives of PPC, GH, EGAT, M (including OAA), GC, GDA, and IG, and an advisor from LPA. These bureaus are hereby directed to identify two representatives to serve as primary and secondary members of the Task Force. Names should be submitted to Ms. Kvitashvili by COB Wednesday, January 12.

The Task Force members will not co-locate. Members will remain in their current office space. A Task Force email list will be created and will be distributed in a separate notice.

The Task Force will meet Monday-Friday at 4:00 p.m. in the DCHA Conference Room, 8.6 E. Only one representative of each office will be expected to attend the daily meetings. A daily 5:00 p.m. briefing for the Deputy Administrator will be limited to a smaller group of individuals.

Apart from the Response Management Team?s coordination of the immediate emergency response, the Task Force will serve as a coordination point for information sharing and joint planning among Agency bureaus. It will also coordinate externally with State regional bureaus and other USG counterparts, and respond to requests from the NSC and other USG agencies.

Point of Contact: Robin Brinkley, DA/AID, (202) 712-4070.

File Name	Notice Date	Effective Date	Editorial Revision Date	ADS CD No.	Remarks
IU2_0502_012405_cd38	01/11/2005	01/11/2005		CD 38	This IU will remain in effect for one year.