§81.11

(b) *Administrator* means the Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency or his authorized representative.

(c) Federal Indian Reservation, Indian Reservation or Reservation means all land within the limits of any Indian reservation under the jurisdiction of the United States government, notwithstanding the issuance of any patent, and including rights-of-way running through the reservation.

(d) *Indian tribe* or *tribe* means any Indian tribe, band, nation, or other organized group or community, including any Alaska Native village, which is federally recognized as eligible for the special programs and services provided by the United States to Indians because of their status as Indians.

(e) *State* means a state, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, and American Samoa and includes the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.

[36 FR 22421, Nov. 25, 1971, as amended at 63 FR 7274, Feb. 12, 1998]

Subpart B—Designation of Air Quality Control Regions

§81.11 Scope.

Air quality control regions designated by the Administrator pursuant to section 107 of the Act are listed in this subpart. Regions so designated are subject to revision, and additional regions may be designated, as the Administrator determines necessary to protect the public health and welfare.

§81.12 National Capital Interstate Air Quality Control Region (District of Columbia, Maryland, and Virginia).

The National Capital Interstate Air Quality Control Region (District of Columbia, Maryland, and Virginia) consists of the territorial area encompassed by the boundaries of the following jurisdictions (including the territorial area of all municipalities (as defined in section 302(f) of the Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. 1857h(f)) geographically located within the outermost boundaries of the area so delimited);

40 CFR Ch. I (7–1–04 Edition)

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

In the State of Maryland: Montgomery County; Prince Georges County.

In the State of Virginia: Arlington County; Fairfax County; Loudoun County; Prince William County.

(As so delimited, the Virginia portion of the region will include the city of Alexandria, the city of Fairfax, and the city of Falls Church.)

§81.13 New Jersey-New York-Connecticut Interstate Air Quality Control Region.

The New Jersey-New York-Connecticut Interstate Air Quality Control Region has been revised to consist of the territorial area encompassed by the boundaries of the following jurisdictions (including the territorial area of all municipalities (as defined in section 302(f) of the Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. 1857h(f)) geographically located within the outermost boundaries of the area so delimited):

In the State of Connecticut: Bethel Township, Bridgeport Township, Bridgewater, Brookfield Township, Danbury Township, Darien Township, Easton Township, Fairfield Township, Greenwich Township, Monroe Township, New Canaan Township, New Fairfield Township, New Milford, Newtown Township, Norwalk Township, Newtown Township, Ridgefield Township, Sherman, Stamford Township, Stratford Township, Trumbull Township, Weston Township, Westport Township, Wilton Township.

In the State of New York: Bronx County, Kings County, Nassau County, New York County, Queens County, Richmond County, Rockland County, Suffolk County, Westchester County.

In the State of New Jersey: Bergen County, Essex County, Hudson County, Middlesex County, Monmouth County, Morris County, Passaic County, Somerset County, Union County.

 $[36\ {\rm FR}\ 22421,\ {\rm Nov}.\ 25,\ 1971,\ as\ amended\ at\ 45\ {\rm FR}\ 84788,\ {\rm Dec.}\ 23,\ 1980]$

§81.14 Metropolitan Chicago Interstate Air Quality Control Region.

The Metropolitan Chicago Interstate Air Quality Control Region (Illinois-Indiana) is revised to consist of the territorial area encompassed by the boundaries of the following jurisdictions or described area (including the territorial area of all municipalities (as defined in section 302(f) of the Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. 1857h(f)) geographically