

## Science, Engineering and Technology Working Group Fueling America's Innovation

April 7, 2008

President George W. Bush White House

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Harry Reid Majority Leader U.S. Senate The Honorable John Boehner Minority Leader U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader U.S. Senate

Dear President Bush, Madam Speaker, Minority Leader Boehner, Majority Leader Reid, and Minority Leader McConnell:

On behalf of the professional society leaders who have signed this letter, we urge Congress and the Administration to restore Fiscal Year 2008 appropriations originally planned for science as you finalize the current Supplemental funding legislation,

At a minimum, \$500M for the National Science Foundation (NSF), the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science, and the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) should be considered as a non-defense supplemental appropriation in the coming weeks.

This level of funding would reinforce the baseline activities for these important contributors to global competitiveness, leadership, and innovation. These federal programs support many of our most strategic jobs and basic research capabilities while laying the groundwork for (Air future economy and workforce.

If America is to remain competitive in today's global economy, support for groundbreaking research must become a national priority. U.S. investment in basic science and education not only underwrites our standing as a technological leader but also bolsters our national economy, our medical and healthcare innovations, and our national security.

The physical sciences, mathematics, engineering, biomedical engineering, geological sciences, computational sciences, environmental sciences, and many other important fields of fundamental research are all affected by these federal government investments.

The passage of America COMPETES Act as well as the budget proposals regarding the American Competitive Initiative (ACT) have been regarded by so many in our community as an

indication that Congress and the Administration can approach science in a bipartisan way with a view towards the future for the nation.

We are at a defining moment that has been described as "Rising Above the Gathering Storm" and this issue will require your collective will and devotion, Your personal investment of time and priority to this request for supplemental funding is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Cynthia A, Volkert, PhD

President

Materials Research Society

Cynthie A. Volleet

Mary Good, PhD

Chairman

The Alliance for Science & Technology

Research in America

James Glimm, PhD

President

American Mathematical Society

James Ghumi

Keith L. **Seit**ttier Executive Director

American Meteorological Society

David Bliss President

American Association For Crystal Growth

John T. Watson, PhD

President

American Institute for Medical and

**Biological Engineering** 

Arthur Bienenstock, PhD

President

American Physical Society

Kent Peterson

President

American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers, Inc.

Spanil -

Sam Y. Zamrik, PhD

President

American Society of Mechanical Engineers

Peter a Lackabrul

Peter Lachenbruch, PhD

President

American Statistical Association

June R. Mikelin

James Mihelcic, PhD

President

Association of Environmental Engineering & Science Professors

Efi Foufoula-Georgiou

Chair Consortium of Universities for ahe Advancement of Hydraulic Science

husell of Sofier

Russell J. LeFevre, PhD President IEEE- USA

Bruce Bursten, PhD President American Chemical Society timb . do to 3

Ernest Levert, PhD

President

Federation of Materials Scientists

Elization A. Rogan

Elizabeth Rogan
Executive Director

Optical Society of America

Dramspehn

Diran Apelian, PhD

President

The Minerals, Metals, & Materials Society

point Blest

Richard a. antha

Kevin G. Harding

President

SPIE - The International Society for Optics and Photonics

Richard A. Anthes, Ph D

President

University Corporation for Atmospheric

Research

## cc: George W. Bush, President

The Honorable Joshua Bolten, Chief of Staff

The Honorable Jim Nussle, Director, Office of Management & Budget

The Honorable John Marburger, Director, Office of Science & Technology Policy

The Honorable Samuel Bodman, Secretary, Department of Energy

The Honorable Arden Bement, Director, National Science Foundation

The Honorable James Turner, Director, National Institute of Standards & Technology

## Senate Appropriations Chairman Robert Byrd

Senate Appropriations Ranking Member Thad Cochran

Senate Appropriations Subcommittee Chairman Byron Dorgan, Energy & Water

Senate Appropriations Subcommittee Ranking Member Pete Domenici, Energy & Water

Senate Appropriations Subcommittee Chairman Barbara Mikulski, CJS

Senate Appropriations Subcommittee Ranking Member Richard Shelby, CJS

## House Appropriations Chairman David Obey

House Appropriations Ranking Member Jerry Lewis

House Appropriations Subcommittee Chairman Peter Visclosky, Energy & Water House Appropriations Subcommittee Ranking Member David Hobson, Energy & Water House

Appropriations Subcommittee Chairman Alan Mollohan, CJS

House Appropriations Subcommittee Ranking Member Rodney Frelinghuysen, CJS