NSF Deputy Directors, Terms and Fields of Science

Deputy Director	<u>Term</u>	Field of Science	
Dr. C. E. Sunderlin	May, 1951 -May, 1957	Organic Chemistry	
vacancy in position of Deputy Director from FY 1957 through FY 1962			
Dr. John T. Wilson	July, 1963 -July, 1968	Psychology	
Dr. John T. Wilson Executive Associate Director*	July, 1968 - August, 1968	Psychology	
Dr. Louis Levin ⁺ Executive Associate Director [*]	August, 1968 - October, 1970	Biochemistry	
Dr. Raymond L. Bisplinghoff	October, 1970 -September, 1974	Aeronautical Engineering	
Dr. Lowell J. Paige (Acting)	September, 1974- June, 1975	Mathematics	
Dr. Richard C. Atkinson	June, 1975 -May, 1977	Psychology	
Dr. Edward C. Creutz (Acting)	August, 1976 - September, 1977	Physics	
Dr. George C. Pimentel	September, 1977 -June, 1980	Chemistry	
Dr. Donald N. Langenberg	July, 1980 - December, 1982	Physics	
Dr. Richard S. Nicholson (Acting)	January, 1983 - May, 1985	Chemistry	
Dr. John H. Moore	June, 1985 -December, 1989	Economics	
Dr. John White (Acting)	September, 1990 - March, 1991	Industrial Engineering	
Dr. Frederick M. Bernthal	March, 1990 - April, 1993	Nuclear Chemistry/ Physics	
Dr. Mary E. Clutter (Acting)	April, 1993 - October, 1993	Biology	

Deputy Director	<u>Term</u>	Field of Science
Dr. Frederick M. Bernthal	October, 1993 - June, 1994	Nuclear Chemistry/ Physics
Dr. Mary E. Clutter (Acting)	June, 1994 - July, 1994	Biology
Dr. Anne C. Petersen	July, 1994 -September, 1996	Behavioral Science
Dr. Joseph Bordogna (Acting)	September, 1996 to June, 1999	Engineering
Dr. Joseph Bordogna	June, 1999 to June, 2005**	Engineering
Dr. Kathie L. Olsen	August, 2005 to present	Biology (neuroscience)

^{*}P.L. 90-407 amended the NSF Act to permit NSF to have a deputy director and four assistant directors appointed by the President. Until these appointments were made, the duties of the deputy director were discharged by an executive associate director.

⁺By presidential order, Dr. Louis Levin also served as Acting Director from July 1,1969 to July 14, 1969 (until Dr. William McElroy's swearing-in on July 14, 1969).

^{**}Dr. Bordogna was confirmed by the Senate on May 7, 1999.