NATIONAL COUNCIL ON THE ARTS

he National Council on the Arts advises the Chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts on agency policies and programs. It reviews and makes recommendations on applications for grants, funding guidelines, leadership initiatives, and nominations for the National Medal of Arts. The Council meets three times a year.

Fourteen voting members of the Council—all private citizens—are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate for six-year terms, and are selected for their distinguished service or achieved eminence in the arts. In 1997, Congress enacted legislation that required the appointment of six members of Congress, three from the House of Representatives and three from the Senate, to serve in an *ex officio*, non-voting capacity for two-year terms. Current Council members can be found on the NEA Web site at *www.arts.gov*.

The following Council members served in FY 2003:

Donald V. Cogman

Patron/Trustee Scottsdale, Arizona

Mary Costa

Opera Singer

Knoxville, Tennessee

Gordon Davidson

Theater Center Director/Producer

Los Angeles, California

Katharine Cramer DeWitt

Patron/Trustee Cincinnati, Ohio

Makoto Fujimura

Visual Artist

New York, New York

Hsin-Ming Fung *

Architect

Los Angeles, California

David H. Gelernter

Author/Critic/Educator Woodbridge, Connecticut

Joy Harjo *

Poet/Musician

Honolulu, Hawaii

Nathan Leventhal *

Patron/Trustee

New York, New York

Teresa Lozano Long

Patron/Trustee

Austin, Texas

Marsha Mason *

Actor/Director

Santa Fe, New Mexico

Maribeth Walton McGinley

Art Director/Designer

Glendale, California

Jerry Pinkney

Artist/Illustrator

Croton-on-Hudson, New York

Earl A. Powell, III *

Museum Director

Washington, District of Columbia

Cleo Parker Robinson

Dance Company Director/Choreographer

Denver, Colorado

Deedie Potter Rose

Patron/Trustee

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Joan Specter *

Patron/Trustee

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Luis Valdez *

Theater Company Director San Juan Bautista, California

Dr. Karen Lias Wolff

Music Educator

Ann Arbor, Michigan

Ex officio members

Cass Ballenger

U.S. House of Representatives

(R-North Carolina)

Mike DeWine **

U.S. Senate

(R-Ohio)

Richard Durbin **

U.S. Senate

(D-Illinois)

Betty McCollum

U.S. House of Representatives

(D-Minnesota)

Howard "Buck" McKeon

U.S. House of Representatives

(R-California)

Harry Reid

U.S. Senate

(D-Nevada)

Jeff Sessions **

U.S. Senate

(R-Alabama)

^{*} End of term in FY 2003

^{**}Terms expired in December 2002