Basis for Closing the National Science Board's December 21, 2007 Vannevar Bush Award Committee teleconference

From December 10-14, 2007, The National Science Board voted to close the December 21, 2007 teleconference of its Vannevar Bush Award Committee. Board Members Abbott, Arvizu, Barish, Beering, Bement, Benbow, Bowen, Bruer, Clough, Droegemeier, Ford, Galloway, Griffiths, Hess, Hoffman, Lanzerotti, Leshner, Randall, Reilly, Strauss, Sullivan, Taylor, Thompson, and Vasquez, participated in the vote and no Member objected to the closing.

The Board Members, National Science Board Office staff, and selected NSF staff will participate. The justification for closing the teleconference is provided in the attached certification.

CERTIFICATE

It is my opinion that the December 21, 2007 and January 2008 teleconference meetings of the National Science Board's (NSB) *ad hoc* Committee for the Vannevar Bush Award, to discuss candidates for the Vannevar Bush Award, may properly be closed to the public under 5 U.S.C. § 552b(c) (2) and (6).

/signed

Lawrence Rudolph General Counsel National Science Foundation