Basis for Closing the January 12, 2007 Meeting of the National Science Board Vannevar Bush Award Committee

On December 19, 2007 through January 3, 2007, The National Science Board voted to close the January 12, 2007 teleconference meeting of the NSB Vannevar Bush Award Committee after determining that the meeting is likely to disclose, relate to, involve, or concern information of a personal nature that would constitute a clearly unwarranted invasion of personal privacy. Members Abbott, Arvizu, Barish, Beering, Bement, Benbow, Bowen, Bruer, Clough, Droegemeier, Ford, Galloway, Griffiths, Hastings, Hess, Hoffman, Lanzerotti, Leshner, Randall, Reilly, Sullivan, Taylor, and Vasquez participated in the vote through an e-mail polling of the Board. No Member voted against the closure of this meeting.

The Board Members, the Board's Executive Officer, National Science Board Office staff, and selected NSF staff will attend this meeting.

CERTIFICATE

It is my opinion that the meeting of the National Science Board's (NSB) Vannevar Bush Award Committee Meetings scheduled for January 12 and 25, 2007 having to do with recommending recipient(s) of the 2007 Vannevar Bush Award may properly be closed to the public under 5 U.S.C. § 552b(c)(6).

/signed/

Lawrence Rudolph General Counsel National Science Foundation