National Council on the Arts

he National Council on the Arts advises the Chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts on agency policies and programs. It reviews and makes recommendations on applications for grants, funding guidelines, leadership initiatives, and nominations for the National Medal of Arts. The Council meets three times a year.

Fourteen voting members of the Council—all private citizens—are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate for six-year terms, and are selected for their distinguished service or achieved eminence in the arts. In 1997, Congress enacted legislation that required the appointment of six members of Congress, three from the House of Representatives and three from the Senate, to serve in an ex officio, non-voting capacity for two-year terms. Current Council members can be found on the NEA Web site at **www.arts.gov.**



Sworn in by then Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor (2nd from left) are from left James Ballinger, Terry Teachout, and Gerard Schwarz. *Photo by Kathy Plowitz-Worden*

The following Council members served in FY 2005:

James Ballinger Museum Director Phoenix, Arizona

Don V. Cogman Patron/Trustee Scottsdale, Arizona

Mary Costa Opera Singer Knoxville, Tennessee

Gordon Davidson *

Theater Center Director/Producer Los Angeles, California

Katharine Cramer DeWitt Patron/Trustee Cincinnati, Ohio

Makoto Fujimura

Visual Artist New York, New York

David H. Gelernter

Author/Critic/Educator Woodbridge, Connecticut

Teresa Lozano Long Patron/Trustee Austin, Texas

James McBride **

Author/Musician/Composer Carversville, Pennsylvania

Maribeth Walton McGinley

Art Director/Designer Glendale, California

Jerry Pinkney

Artist/Illustrator Croton-on-Hudson, New York

Cleo Parker Robinson * Dance Company Director/Choreographer Denver, Colorado

Deedie Potter Rose

Patron/Trustee Dallas, Texas

Gerard Schwarz Symphony Orchestra Conductor Seattle, Washington

Terry Teachout Critic/Author New York, New York

Karen Lias Wolff Music Educator Ann Arbor, Michigan

* End of term in FY 2004 but served in FY 2005 until their replacements were confirmed. ** Resigned in FY 2005.

Ex officio members

Cass Ballenger* U.S. House of Representatives (R-North Carolina)

Robert Bennett

U.S. Senate (R-Utah)

Mike DeWine

U.S. Senate (R-Ohio)

Patrick Leahy

U.S. Senate (D-Vermont)

* End of term in FY 2005

Betty McCollum

U.S. House of Representatives (D-Minnesota)

Howard "Buck" McKeon U.S. House of Representatives (R-California)

Harry Reid*

U.S. Senate (D-Nevada)

Patrick Tiberi U.S. House of Representatives (R-Ohio)