

Sen. Jesse Helms of Raleigh Republican—Jan. 3, 1973



Sen. John Edwards of Raleigh Democrat—Jan. 6, 1999



Eva Clayton
of Littleton (1st District)
Democrat—5th term



Bob Etheridgeof Lillington (2d District)
Democrat—2d term



Walter B. Jones of Farmville (3d District) Republican—3d term



David E. Price of Chapel Hill (4th District) Democrat—6th term*



Richard M. Burr of Winston-Salem (5th District) Republican—3d term



Howard Coble of Greensboro (6th District) Republican—8th term



Mike McIntyre of Lumberton (7th District) Democrat—2d term



Robin Hayes of Concord (8th District) Republican—1st term



Sue Myrick of Charlotte (9th District) Republican—3d term



Cass Ballenger of Hickory (10th District) Republican—8th term



Charles H. Taylor of Brevard (11th District) Republican—5th term



Melvin Watt
of Charlotte (12th District)
Democrat—4th term