

# MEMORANDUM TO MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL SCIENCE BOARD

SUBJECT: Major Actions and Approvals at the May 14-15, 2007 Meeting

This memorandum will be made publicly available for any interested parties to review. A more detailed summary of the meeting will be posted on the National Science Board (Board) public Web site within approximately 10 business days. A comprehensive set of Board-approved Open Session meeting minutes will be posted on the Board's public Web site following its August 2007 meeting.

Major actions and approvals at the 398<sup>th</sup> meeting of the Board included the following (not in priority order):

- The Board approved the minutes of the Plenary Open Session (<u>NSB-07-42</u>) for the March 2007 meeting (<u>http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2007/0329/minutes.pdf</u>). Minutes for the Plenary Executive Closed and Closed Sessions for the March 2007 meeting of the Board were also approved.
- 2. The Board approved a resolution to close portions of the upcoming August 7-8, 2007 Board meeting dealing with staff appointments; future budgets; grants and contracts; specific Office of the Inspector General investigations and enforcement actions; and National Science Foundation (NSF) participation in a civil or administrative action, proceeding, or arbitration (http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2007/0807/closing.pdf).
- 3. Drs. Mark Abbott and Patricia Galloway were elected to 2-year terms, May 2007 May 2009, as members of the Executive Committee.
- 4. The Board approved a schedule of meetings for calendar year 2008 (<u>NSB-07-60</u>) (Attachment 1), and asked Dr. Michael Crosby, Executive Officer of the Board, to report at the August 2007 meeting on candidate locations for the February 2008 meeting, annual retreat, and off-site visit.
- The Board accepted the 2006 Annual Report of the Executive Committee as presented by the committee chairman, Dr. Arden Bement, NSF Director (<u>NSB/EC-07-2</u>) (Attachment 2)
- 6. The Board Chairman discharged the *ad hoc* Committee for the Vannevar Bush Award with thanks to Dr. Kathryn Sullivan, chairman, and Drs. Kelvin Droegemeier, Patricia Galloway, José-Marie Griffiths, and Thomas Taylor.
- 7. The Board Chairman discharged the *ad hoc* Committee on Nominating for NSB Elections, informally know as the Elections Committee, with thanks to Dr. Kathryn Sullivan, chairman, and Drs. Elizabeth Hoffman, Douglas Randall, and Jo Anne Vasquez.

8. The Board approved the transmittal letter and management response for the NSF Office of Inspector General's *Semiannual Report to Congress, March 2007*.

Michael P. Crosby Executive Officer

Attachment 1: <u>NSB-07-60</u> Attachment 2: <u>NSB/EC-07-2</u>

<u>NSB-07-60</u> May 16, 2007

### NATIONAL SCIENCE BOARD

# **CALENDAR OF MEETINGS\***

2008

February 6 – 7 (Wednesday – Thursday) [Annual Retreat and Visit]

March 26 – 27 (Wednesday – Thursday)

May 6 – 7 (Tuesday – Wednesday) [Annual Meeting and Awards Dinner]

> August 12 – 13 (Tuesday – Wednesday)

October 1 – 2 (Wednesday – Thursday)

December 9 – 10 (Tuesday – Wednesday)

<sup>\*</sup> Approved at the May 15, 2007 meeting of the National Science Board.

NSB/EC-07-2 May 15, 2007

#### **National Science Board**

#### 2006 Annual Report of the Executive Committee

In accordance with the requirements of 42 U.S.C. § 1865 (d), I hereby submit this annual report of the National Science Board (Board) Executive Committee, as approved at the Executive Committee meeting on May 15, 2006. This report covers the period from May 2006 through April 2007. I served as Director of the National Science Foundation and the Board's Executive Committee chairman during the above time period.

The elected Board membership of the Executive Committee during the past year was as follows.

From May 1, 2006 to May 10, 2006:	From May 11, 2006 to April 30, 2007:
Dr. Barry C. Barish	Dr. Barry C. Barish
Dr. Steven C. Beering	Dr. Steven C. Beering
Dr. Diana S. Natalicio	Dr. Ray M. Bowen
Dr. Warren M. Washington	Dr. Kathryn D. Sullivan

Dr. Michael P. Crosby, the Board's Executive Officer and Board Office Director, served as Executive Secretary for the entire period.

The Executive Committee met four times during this period at the National Science Foundation in Arlington, Virginia. Oral reports of its activities were made at meetings of the full Board and are reflected in the minutes of those meetings.

The Executive Committee's powers and functions are based on a delegation of authority to it by the Board according to 42 U.S.C. § 1865(a). The Board's current delegation to the Executive Committee (Attachment B to <u>NSB-99-158</u>) authorizes the Executive Committee to approve awards on behalf of the Board when an immediate decision is required between Board meetings and when the necessary action is not within the authority of the Director of the National Science Foundation. There were no occurrences of this condition or Executive Committee actions on behalf of the Board during the above time period.

/s/

Arden L. Bement, Jr. Chairman Executive Committee