

NSB-08-96 September 25, 2008

MEMORANDUM TO MEMBERS AND CONSULTANTS OF THE NATIONAL SCIENCE BOARD

SUBJECT: Major Actions and Approvals at the September 22, 2008 Meeting

This memorandum will be made publicly available for any interested parties to review. A more detailed summary of the meeting will be forthcoming and posted on the National Science Board (Board, NSB) public Web site. The minutes of the Plenary Open Session for the September 2008 meeting will also be posted on the Board's public Web site, following Board approval at the December 2008 meeting.

Major actions and approvals at the 406th meeting of the Board included the following (not in priority order):

- The Board approved the minutes of the Plenary Open Session (<u>NSB-08-79</u>) for the August 2008 meeting (<u>http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2008/0812/minutes.pdf</u>). Minutes for the Plenary Executive Closed and Closed Sessions for the August 2008 meeting of the Board were also approved.
- 2. The Board approved a resolution to close portions of the upcoming December 9-10, 2008 Board meeting dealing with staff appointments; future budgets; grants and contracts; specific Office of the Inspector General investigations and enforcement actions; and National Science Foundation (NSF) participation in a civil or administrative action, proceeding, or arbitration (http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2008/0922/closing.pdf).
- 3. The Board authorized the NSF Deputy Director, at her discretion, to extend the Cooperative Agreement *Management and Operations of the National Optical Astronomy Observatory and the National Solar Observatory* and to make two renewal awards to the Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy, Inc., contingent upon review by the National Science Board of the Deputy Director's assessment.
- 4. The Board Chairman announced the Board Members nominated by the President to the NSB Class of 2014: Dr. France Córdova, President, Purdue University; Dr. Esin Gulari, Dean of Engineering and Science, Clemson University; Dr. Bud Peterson, Chancellor, University of Colorado, Boulder; and Dr. Diane L. Souvaine, Professor and Chair, Department of Computer Science, Tufts University. The following Board Members have been re-nominated to serve a second term: Dr. Barry Barish, Professor of Physics Emeritus and Director, LIGO Laboratory, California Institute of Technology; Dr. Ray Bowen, President Emeritus, Texas A&M University; and Dr. Douglas Randall, Professor and Thomas Jefferson Fellow, University of Missouri, Columbia.

- 5. The Board Chairman announced that Dr. John Bruer and Mr. Arthur Reilly will be added to the members of the *ad hoc* Committee for the Vannevar Bush Award, chaired by Dr. Kathryn Sullivan.
- 6. The Board Chairman also announced that former Board Member, Dr. Jo Anne Vasquez, will serve as chairman of the Public Service Award Advisory Committee.

[signed]
Craig R. Robinson
Acting Executive Officer