### NATIONAL SCIENCE BOARD

## Task Force on Sustainable Energy Roundtable Discussion #3

September 4, 2008 University of California, Berkeley Clark Kerr Campus Conference Center 2601 Warring St. Berkeley, CA 94720

## **LIST OF ROUNDTABLE PARTICIPANTS**

### **National Science Board Members**

Dr. Dan E. Arvizu, Director and Chief Executive, National Renewable Energy Laboratory Task Force Co-Chairman Dr. Mark R. Abbott Dean and Professor, College of Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences, Oregon State University Dr. Steven C. Beering, Chairman, National Science Board; President Emeritus, Purdue University Chairman Dr. Camilla P. Benbow Patricia and Rodes Hart Dean of Education and Human Development, Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Vanderbilt University Dr. Patricia D. Galloway Chief Executive Officer, Pegasus Global Holdings, Inc. Dr. José-Marie Griffiths Dean, School of Information and Library Science, University of North Carolina Dr. Douglas D. Randall\* Professor and Thomas Jefferson Fellow, Director, Interdisciplinary Plant Group, University of Missouri Mr. Arthur K. Reilly Senior Director, Strategic Technology Policy, Cisco Systems Dr. Jon C. Strauss, President Emeritus, Harvey Mudd College Task Force Co-Chairman Acting Executive Officer, National Science Board Dr. Craig R. Robinson

<sup>\*</sup>Consultant, outgoing Class of 2008

# **Invited Roundtable Participants**

| Invited Roundtable 1 articipants |  |
|----------------------------------|--|
| Dr. Robert Birgeneau             | Chancellor and Professor of Physics, University of California, Berkeley  |
| Dr. Harvey Blanch                | Chief Science and Technology Officer, joint BioEnergy Institute; Professor of Chemical Engineering, University of California, Bekeley; Senior Faculty Scientist, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory |
| Dr. Carl Blumstein               | Director, California Institute for Energy and the Environment  |
| Dr. Severin Borenstein           | Director, University of California Energy Institute; E.T. Grether Professor of<br>Business Economics and Public Policy, Haas School of Business, University<br>of California, Berkeley                 |
| Dr. Mark Brown                   | Professor, Department of Environmental Engineering Sciences; Program Director, Center for Environmental Policy, University of Florida  |
| Dr. Tony Chan                    | Assistant Director, Directorate for Mathematical & Physical Sciences,<br>National Science Foundation   |
| Mr. John Denniston               | Partner, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers  |
| Dr. Alphonse (Al) DeSena         | Program Director, Division of Research on Learning in Formal and Informal Settings (DRL); Coordinator, Lifelong Learning Cluster, DRL, National Science Foundation                                     |
| Dr. Sossina Haile                | Professor of Materials Science and of Chemical Engineering, California<br>Institute of Technology  |
| Mr. Rich Halvey                  | Energy Program Director, Western Governors' Association  |
| Dr. Zakya Kafafi                 | Division Director, Division of Materials Research, National Science<br>Foundation  |
| Dr. Daniel Kammen                | Class of 1935 Distinguished Professor of Energy, University of California, Berkeley; Founding Director, Renewable and Appropriate Energy Laboratory  |
| Mr. Vinod Khosla                 | Founder and Partner, Khosla Ventures   |
| Mr. Hal LaFlash                  | Director, Emerging Clean Technology Policy, Pacific Gas and Electric Company   |
| Dr. Mark Levine                  | Staff Senior Scientist and Leader of China Energy Group, Lawrence Berkeley<br>National Lab   |

Dr. Jane Long Principal Associate Director at Large, Lawrence Livermore National

Laboratory

| Dr. Arun Majumdar     | Director, Environmental Energy Technologies Division, Lawrence Berkeley<br>National Laboratory; Almy & Agnes Maynard Chair Professor, College of<br>Engineering, University of California, Berkeley |
|-----------------------|---|
| Dr. Trung Van Nguyen  | Director, Energy for Sustainability Program, National Science Foundation  |
| Dr. Ann Russell       | Program Director, Division of Environmental Biology, National Science Foundation  |
| Dr. Nancy Ryan        | Chief of Staff, Office of President Michael Peevey, California Public Utilities<br>Commission   |
| Dr. Eric Smith        | Professor, Department of Political Science and Environmental Studies<br>Program, University of California, Santa Barbara  |
| Dr. S. Shyam Sunder   | Director, Building and Fire Research Laboratory, National Institute of<br>Standards and Technology, United States Department of Commerce  |
| Dr. Duane Wegener     | Professor of Psychological Sciences; Initiative Leader for Social, Economic, and Political Aspects of Energy Use and Policy, Energy Center at Discovery Park, Purdue University                     |
| Dr. Catherine Wolfram | Executive Director, Center for Energy & Environmental Innovation; Associate Professor of Business Administration, Haas School of Business, University of  |

California, Berkeley