Office of Compliance



PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

January 24, 2006

FOR MORE INFORMATION

Alma Candelaria, 202/724-9226 *Peter Ames Eveleth*, 202/724-9249

MEMBER OFFICES HONORED WITH 'OFFICE SAFETY AWARD'

Washington, D.C.—Seven Member Offices received an Office Safety Award today at a meeting of the Office of Compliance's Legislative Branch Safety and Health/ADA Group. The offices were recognized for having no health and safety violations during a recent inspection period.

"Today's award is a testament to comprehensive quality management in these congressional offices," said Office of Compliance General Counsel Peter Ames Eveleth. "Everyone who has worked in the field of health and safety recognizes that hazard free organizations take leadership from the top-down."

The Legislative Branch Safety and Health/ADA Group meets periodically to discuss safety, health, and access issues on Capitol Hill. This was the first meeting at which Office Safety Awards were presented

The offices that received recognition include those of Senator Wayne Allard, (CO); Senator George Allen, (VA); Representative Dan Boren (OK–02); Representative Jerry Costello, (IL-12); Representative Doris Matsui, (CA-05); Representative Major Owens, (NY-11); and Representative Roger Wicker (MS-01).

The Office of Compliance advances safety, health and workplace rights in the U.S. Congress and the Legislative Branch. Established as an independent agency by the Congressional Accountability Act of 1995, the Office educates employees and employing offices about their rights and responsibilities under the Act, provides an impartial dispute resolution process and investigates and remedies violations of the Act.

###