(5) Whether in meetings away from Washington a hearing will be a good device for calling attention to the Commission's presence in a particular community or region.

PART 1702—BYLAWS OF THE COMMISSION

Sec.

1702.1 Establishment.

1702.2 Members.

1702.3 Officers.

1702.4 Responsibilities and duties of the Commission and Commission members.

1702.5 Duties and powers of the Chairman and Vice-Chairman.

1702.6 Commission meetings.

1702.7 Staff—powers and limitations.

1702.8-1702.10 [Reserved]

AUTHORITY: Pub. L. 86-380 of Sept. 24, 1959; 73 Stat. 703 (42 U.S.C. 4271).

SOURCE: 51 FR 24802, July 9, 1986, unless otherwise noted.

§1702.1 Establishment.

The Act establishing the Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations, 42 U.S.C. 4271 et seq. (1959), 73 Stat. 703, empowers the Commission to regulate to the extent it deems desirable for the purpose of carrying out the provisions of this Act the holding of hearings, taking of testimony and fixing the time and place of meetings (42) U.S.C. 4276(a)), rules covering the appointment and compensation of employees and the procurement of temporary and intermittent services (42 U.S.C. 4276(d)). In addition, the Commission is required to publish regulations implementing the provisions of the Freedom of Information Act (5 U.S.C. 552(a)), and the Privacy Act of 1974 (Pub. L. 93-579, 5 U.S.C. 552a). These bylaws are designed to carry out these regulatory obligations.

§ 1702.2 Members.

Public Law 86–380, Sec. 3 (42 U.S.C. 4273), provides that the Commission consist of 26 members serving two-year terms—three U.S. Senators appointed by the President of the Senate, three members of the U.S. House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker of the House, three private citizens and three officers of the Executive Branch appointed by the President of the

United States, and fourteen elected officials of state and local governments nominated by their respective national associations and appointed by the President of the United States. Except for the private citizen and Executive Branch members, appointments must have bipartisan balance within each membership group. The state and local officials on the Commission are divided into the following groups: four governors, three state legislators, four mayors and three elected county officials. Members serve until their terms expire and their replacements have been appointed, or until they leave public office in the membership category they represent. Members are eligible for reappointment.

§ 1702.3 Officers.

In accordance with section 4(b) of Pub. L. 86–380 (42 U.S.C. 4274(b)), the President designates the Chairman and Vice-Chairman from among the members of the Commission.

§ 1702.4 Responsibilities and duties of the Commission and Commission members.

- (a) Studies, recommendations and reports. In accordance with section 5 of Pub. L. 86-380 (42 U.S.C. 4275), the Commission is responsible for choosing topics to study and consider, for recommending "ways and means for fostering better relations between the levels of government," and for submitting reports to the President, Congress and any other unit of government or organization, including an annual report to the President and Congress. The Commission, or the Chairman upon explicit delegation by the Commission, must approve publication of each formal recontaining legislative ommendations (series "A" reports) and information reports (series "M" re-
- (b) Meeting and hearings. The Commission, by majority vote of those attending the meeting, may call meetings and hearings at such times and places as it deems appropriate.
- (c) Executive Director. In accordance with section 6(c) of Pub. L. 86–380 (42 U.S.C. 4276(c)), as amended, the Commission appoints at a regular or special