Congressional Black Caucus Chairmen and Chairwomen, 1971–2007*

Charles Coles Diggs, Jr. 92nd–1st session 1971–1972 Louis Stokes 92nd–2nd session 1972–1973 Louis Stokes 93rd–1st session 1973–1974 Charles B. Rangel 93rd–2nd session 1974–1975	tokes 9
Louis Stokes 92nd-2nd session 1972-1973 Louis Stokes 93rd-1st session 1973-1974	tokes 9
Louis Stokes 93rd–1st session 1973–1974	
	1
Charles B. Rangel 93rd–2nd session 1974–1975	okes 9
	B. Rangel
Charles B. Rangel 94th–1st session 1975–1976	B. Rangel
Yvonne Brathwaite Burke 94th–2nd session 1976–1977	Brathwaite Burke 9
Parren James Mitchell 95th 1977–1979	ames Mitchell 9
Cardiss Collins 96th 1979–1981	Collins 9
Walter Edward Fauntroy 97th 1981–1983	Edward Fauntroy 9
Julian Carey Dixon 98th 1983–1985	Carey Dixon 9
George Thomas (Mickey) Leland 99th 1985–1987	Thomas (Mickey) Leland 9
Mervyn Malcolm Dymally 100th 1987–1989	Malcolm Dymally 1
Ronald V. Dellums 101st 1989–1991	V. Dellums
Edolphus Towns 102nd 1991–1993	as Towns 1
Kweisi Mfume 103rd 1993–1995	Mfume 1
Donald Milford Payne 104th 1995–1997	Milford Payne 1
Maxine Waters 105th 1997–1999	Waters 1
James Enos Clyburn 106th 1999–2001	nos Clyburn 1
Eddie Bernice Johnson 107th 2001–2003	ernice Johnson 1
Elijah Eugene Cummings 108th 2003–2005	ugene Cummings 1
Melvin L. Watt 109th 2005–2007	L. Watt
Carolyn Cheeks Kilpatrick 110th 2007–Present	Cheeks Kilpatrick 1

^{*} In the early years of the CBC, leadership was elected twice per Congress.