- (ii) as to which the self-regulatory organization consents, the Commission will:
- (A) By order approve such proposed rule change or
- (B) institute proceedings to determine whether the proposed rule change should be disapproved.

#### IV. Solicitation of Comments

Interested persons are invited to submit written data, views, and arguments concerning the foregoing, including whether the proposed rule change, as amended, is consistent with the Act. Comments may be submitted by any of the following methods:

#### Electronic Comments

- Use the Commission's Internet comment form (http://www.sec.gov/rules/sro.shtml) or
- Send an e-mail to *rule-comments@sec.gov*. Please include File Number SR–NSCC–2006–04 on the subject line.

# Paper Comments

• Send paper comments in triplicate to Nancy M. Morris, Secretary, Securities and Exchange Commission, 100 F Street, NE., Washington, DC 20549–1090.

All submissions should refer to File Number SR-NSCC-2006-04. This file number should be included on the subject line if e-mail is used. To help the Commission process and review your comments more efficiently, please use only one method. The Commission will post all comments on the Commission's Internet Web site (http://www.sec.gov/ rules/sro.shtml). Copies of the submission, all subsequent amendments, all written statements with respect to the proposed rule change that are filed with the Commission, and all written communications relating to the proposed rule change between the Commission and any person, other than those that may be withheld from the public in accordance with the provisions of 5 U.S.C. 552, will be available for inspection and copying in the Commission's Public Reference Section, 100 F Street, NE., Washington, DC 20549. Copies of such filing also will be available for inspection and copying at the principal office of NSCC and on NSCC's Web site at www.nscc.com/ legal. All comments received will be posted without change; the Commission does not edit personal identifying information from submissions. You should submit only information that you wish to make available publicly. All submissions should refer to File

Number SR-NSCC-2006-04 and should be submitted on or before May 30, 2006.

For the Commission by the Division of Market Regulation, pursuant to delegated authority.<sup>14</sup>

## Nancy M. Morris,

Secretary.

[FR Doc. E6-6910 Filed 5-5-06; 8:45 am]

BILLING CODE 8010-01-P

#### **DEPARTMENT OF STATE**

[Public Notice 5330]

Bureau of Intelligence and Research; Advisory Committee for the Study of Eastern Europe and the Independent States of the Former Soviet Union (Title VIII)

The Advisory Committee for the Study of Eastern Europe and the Independent States of the Former Soviet Union (Title VIII) will convene on Wednesday, May 17, 2006 beginning at 9:30 a.m. in Room 1205 of the U.S. Department of State, Harry S. Truman Building, 2201 C Street, NW., Washington, DC.

The Advisory Committee will recommend grant recipients for the FY 2006 competition of the Program for the Study of Eastern Europe and the Independent States of the Former Soviet Union in connection with the "Research and Training for Eastern Europe and the Independent States of the Former Soviet Union Act of 1983, as amended." The agenda will include opening statements by the Chairman and members of the committee, and, within the committee, discussion, approval and recommendation that the Department of State negotiate grant agreements with certain "national organizations with an interest and expertise in conducting research and training concerning the countries of Eastern Europe and the Independent States of the Former Soviet Union," based on the guidelines contained in the call for applications published in the Federal Register on November 14, 2005. Following committee deliberation, interested members of the public may make oral statements concerning the Title VIII program in general.

This meeting will be open to the public; however attendance will be limited to the seating available. Entry into the Harry S. Truman building is controlled and must be arranged in advance of the meeting. Those planning to attend should notify the Title VIII Program Office at the U.S. Department of State on (202) 647–0243 by Friday,

May 12, 2006, providing the following information: Full Name, Date of Birth, Social Security Number, Country of Citizenship, and any requirements for special needs. All attendees must use the 2201 C Street entrance and must arrive no later than 9:15 a.m. to pass through security before entering the building. Visitors who arrive without prior notification and without photo identification will not be admitted.

Dated: April 14, 2006.

## Susan H. Nelson,

Acting Executive Director, Advisory Committee for Studies of Eastern Europe and the Independent States of the Former Soviet Union, Department of State.

[FR Doc. E6-7026 Filed 5-5-06; 8:45 am]

BILLING CODE 4710-32-P

## **DEPARTMENT OF STATE**

[Public Notice 5389]

# U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy; Notice of Meeting

The U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy will hold a meeting on May 15, 2006, in the U.S. Embassy Conference Room, at the U.S. Embassy in Bogota, Colombia, Calle 22D–BIS, No. 47–51. The meeting will be from 10:30 a.m to 11:15 a.m. The Commissioners will discuss public diplomacy issues and hear from experts on U.S.-Colombian relations.

The Commission was reauthorized pursuant to Public Law 109-108. (H.R. 2862, Science, State, Justice, Commerce, and Related Agencies Appropriations Act, 2006). The U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy is a bipartisan Presidentially appointed panel created by Congress in 1948 to provide oversight of U.S. Government activities intended to understand, inform and influence foreign publics. The Commission reports its findings and recommendations to the President, the Congress and the Secretary of State and the American people. Current Commission members include Barbara M. Barrett of Arizona, who is the Chairman; Harold Pachios of Maine; Ambassador Penne Percy Korth of Washington, DC; Ambassador Elizabeth Bagley of Washington, DC; Charles "Tre" Evers of Florida; Jay T. Snyder of New York; and Maria Sophia Aguirre of Washington, DC.

Seating is limited. To attend the meeting and for more information, please contact Carl Chan at (202) 203–7880, or (202) 203–7883.

<sup>14 17</sup> CFR 200.30-3(a)(12).