

National Telecommunications & Information Administration

For Immediate Release: Nov. 3, 2006 Contact: Todd Sedmak or Ranjit DeSilva, (202) 482-7002

Commerce Department Announces Committee to Advise on Management of Nation's Airwaves

Issues Facing Committee Include Addressing Demand for Wireless and Broadband Services While Protecting Public Safety and National Defense

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Secretary of Commerce Carlos M. Gutierrez today announced the appointment of a diverse group of representatives from the private sector for a two-year term to an advisory committee on radio frequency spectrum. The radio frequency spectrum is a vital and limited national resource, and committee members will provide advice and recommendations that will enable the United States to remain a leader in new wireless technologies while ensuring the country's homeland security, national defense, and other critical government needs are satisfied.

"Our new spectrum advisory committee will help us in developing wise radio frequency policies that will promote new technologies, expand consumer choices, and enhance first responder capabilities," said Gutierrez. "I want to thank these individuals for volunteering their time and expertise to work on behalf of the President's Spectrum Policy Initiative."

The Commerce Spectrum Advisory Committee is part of the President's Spectrum Policy Initiative, which was established by President George W. Bush in June 2003 to further develop and implement a U.S. spectrum policy for the 21st century that meets the Nation's needs and spurs economic growth. Radio frequency spectrum contributes to increased technological innovation and scientific discovery, enables communications among first responders to natural disasters and terrorist attacks, assists in military operations, and spurs economic growth and job creation by providing sound commercial choices for consumers including high-speed Internet and increased wireless services.

The Advisory Committee will report to John Kneuer, Acting Assistant Secretary for Communications and Information, who will appoint a chair at the first meeting.

"The Advisory Committee represents a valuable tool for obtaining the expertise of a balanced cross-section of private sector policy experts as we move forward on a proactive agenda that will ensure America's homeland security and its world leadership in cutting edge technologies," said Acting Assistant Secretary Kneuer. "Committee members will offer expertise on reforms that expedite the American public's access to broadband services, public safety services, and long-range spectrum planning."

Upon soliciting nominations from the public, the Commerce Department selected members, who represent some of the nation's premier spectrum policy and management experts, based on their nomination, technical background and broad expertise. Members of the Committee include:

Dr. David Borth, corporate vice president and chief technical officer, Motorola Inc.; Schaumburg, Ill.

Martin Cooper, chairman and co-founder, ArrayComm, San Jose, Calif.;

Mark Crosby, president and chief executive officer, Enterprise Wireless Alliance, McLean, Va.;

James Goldstein, director of spectrum reconfiguration, Sprint Nextel Corp., Reston, Va.;

Alexander H. Good, vice chairman and chief executive officer, Mobile Satellite Ventures, Reston, Va.;

Robert M. Gurss, director of legal and government affairs, Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials International Inc., Washington, D.C.;

Dale Hatfield, independent consultant and adjunct professor in the Interdisciplinary Telecommunications Program, University of Colorado, Boulder, Colo.;

Dr. Kevin Kahn, senior fellow, Intel Corp, Washington, D.C.;

Hilda Legg, consultant, Legg Strategies, Knifley, Ky.;

James Lewis, senior fellow and director of technology and public policy program, Center for Strategic & International Studies, Washington, D.C.;

Dr. Mark McHenry, president, Shared Spectrum Company, Vienna, Va.;

Darrin M. Mylet, vice president wireless services, Cantor Fitzgerald, New York, N.Y.;

Ambassador Janice Obuchowski, president, Freedom Technologies Inc., Washington, D.C.;

Dr. Robert Pepper, senior managing director, Cisco Systems, Washington, D.C.;

R. Gerard Salemme, executive vice president and director, Clearwire Corp., Washington, D.C.;

Bryan N. Tramont, partner, Wilkinson, Barker, Knauer, LLP, Washington, D.C.;

Mark Tucker, chief executive officer, CoCo Communications, Seattle, Wash.;

Jennifer Warren, senior director of trade and regulatory affairs, Lockheed Martin Corp., Arlington, Va.

The President's Spectrum Policy Initiative is located on the Web at www.ntia.doc.gov. The National Telecommunications and Information Administration is the President's principal adviser on telecommunications and information policy issues.

###