Date: October 31, 2006 Contact: Mary Apple, 406-896-5258

Kempthorne Announces New Appointments to BLM Resource Advisory Councils

Interior Secretary Dirk Kempthorne recently announced the appointment of nine new members and seven reappointed members to Montana's three citizen-based Resource Advisory Councils, which advise the Bureau of Land Management on public land issues.

"These new Resource Advisory Council members are to be commended for voluntarily committing their time and knowledge to the stewardship of our public lands," Kempthorne said. "Their advice and recommendations will be a substantial contribution to this collaborative effort."

The BLM's Resource Advisory Councils (RACs), composed of citizens chosen for their expertise in natural resource issues, help the agency carry out its stewardship of 261 million acres of public lands. The Bureau, which manages more land than any other federal agency, has 24 RACs across the West, where most BLM-managed land is located.

"The work of the Resource Advisory Councils is a prime example of how these unique partnerships strengthen our management efforts and help promote cooperative conservation," Kempthorne noted. "Their innovation and creativity is the engine that drives citizen-based problem solving for land management issues."

Acting State Director Howard Lemm said, "With a variety of experience and backgrounds, the RAC members offer wide ranging viewpoints to each of our councils. This diversity gives BLM the balanced outlook necessary to manage the public lands for multiple uses." The BLM, an agency of the Department of the Interior, is responsible for managing these various uses – such as outdoor recreation, livestock grazing, mineral development, and energy production – while conserving the land's natural, historical, and cultural resources.

Below are the newly appointed and reappointed members of Montana's three RACs and the interests they represent.

Western Montana RAC (next meeting November 29, 2006, in Butte)

Corby Anderson (energy/minerals) new
Stephen Flynn (timber industry) new
Nathan Finch (federal grazing) new
Richard Young (environmental) reappointment
Dan Lucas (public-at-large) reappointment

Central Montana RAC

Lisa Cowan Heustis (federal grazing) reappointment Michael Bryant (energy/minerals) new Larry Epstein (environmental) new Robert Valach (archeologic/historic) new Troy Blunt (elected official) new

Eastern Montana RAC (next meeting November 15, 2006, in Miles City)
Colby Branch (energy/minerals) reappointment
Charles Hauptman (energy/minerals) reappointment
Kayhan Ostovar (environmental) new
Howard Boggess (archeologic/historic) reappointment
Ray Trumpower (public-at-large) new
Mack Cole (elected official) reappointment

###