Invasive Species Databases

Useful links to databases, networks, and initiatives that share invasive species information at the local, regional, national, and international level.

• Local and Regional
  • Alaska Exotic Plant Mapping Project
  • Invasive Plant Atlas of New England
  • South Florida Restoration Science Forum Invasive Exotic Species
  • Southwest Exotic Plant Information Clearinghouse
    
    
• National
  • Cactus Moth Detection and Monitoring Network
  • Invasive Species Information Node
  • National Institute of Invasive Species Science
  • Nonindigenous Aquatic Species
    
    
• International
  • Brown Tree Snake on Guam
  • Global Invasive Species Database
  • Global Invasive Species Information Network
  • NISbase: An International Nonindigenous Species Database Network

Local and Regional

Alaska Exotic Plant Mapping Project

• Alaska Exotic Plant Mapping Project (AKEPMP) - In 2002, the U.S. Forest Service Forest Health Protection Program and the U.S. Geological Survey Alaska Science Center launched a project to create a statewide database for invasive plants. The Alaska Exotic Plant Mapping Project (AKEPMP) was initiated to facilitate the yearly organization and publishing of a regional database and derived maps. The regional AKEPMP database incorporates data from field collaborators from federal and state agencies, universities, private consulting firms, and other interested groups. The database is updated at least annually and can be downloaded.

Invasive Plant Atlas of New England

• Invasive Plant Atlas of New England (IPANE) - The Invasive Plant Atlas of New England’s (IPANE) comprehensive web-accessible database of invasive and potentially invasive plants in New England that facilitates education and research that leads to a greater understanding of invasive plant ecology and support informed conservation management. An important focus of the database is the early detection of, and rapid response to, new invasions.

South Florida Restoration Science Forum Invasive Exotic Species

• South Florida Restoration Science Forum Invasive Exotic Species - SOFIA provides scientific information access in support of research, decision-making, and resource management for the South Florida ecosystem restoration effort. This website seeks to ask and answer the questions: "What are they? Where do they come from? Where are they now? Where are they going?", and "What can be done about them?", about invasive exotic species in the South Florida ecosystem.

Southwest Exotic Plant Information Clearinghouse

• Southwest Exotic Plant Information Clearinghouse - In cooperation with Northern Arizona University, the Southwest Exotic Plant Information Clearinghouse is a cooperative effort among the U.S. Geological Survey, the National Park Service and Northern Arizona University to organize comprehensive information on exotic plant species in the southwest on one web location. Contains maps, information on weed species, and species lists.

back to top

National

Cactus Moth Detection and Monitoring Network

• Cactus Moth Detection and Monitoring Network (CMDMN) - Volunteer monitors from public and private land management units, garden clubs and Master Gardeners monitor the spread of the moth, cactus populations and report observations. The data will be used to support modeling efforts to better predict likely locations for new pricklypear cactus and cactus moth, helping guide surveys. This is the first step of an Early Detection and Rapid Response (EDRR) approach.

Invasive Species Information Node

• Invasive Species Information Node (ISIN) - Part of the National Biological Information Infrastructure. This Web site provides a central repository for information pertaining to the identification, description, management, and control of invasive species. This node has many partners [including the USGS] that research many invasive species issues throughout diverse geographical areas.

National Institute of Invasive Species Science

• National Institute of Invasive Species Science (NIISS) - (USGS Fort Collins Science Center). Developing cooperative approaches for invasive species science to meet the urgent needs of land managers and the public.

Nonindigenous Aquatic Species

• Nonindigenous Aquatic Species (NAS) - A central repository for accurate and spatially referenced biogeographic accounts of nonindigenous aquatic species. Provided are scientific reports, online/realtime queries, spatial data sets, regional contact lists, and general information. The data is made available for use by biologists, interagency groups, and the general public. The geographical coverage is the United States. On the web at: http://nas.er.usgs.gov/.

back to top

International

Brown Treesnake on Guam

• Brown Treesnake on Guam - This resource has been developed to provide source materials on the history of the invasion, continuing threats, research results, and containment and management of the brown Treesnake (Boiga irregularis) in Guam and its relevance to other islands and mild continental environments.

Global Invasive Species Database

• Global Invasive Species Database (GISD) - The Global Invasive Species Database focuses on invasive alien species that threaten native biodiversity and covers all taxonomic groups from micro-organisms to animals and plants in all ecosystems.

Global Invasive Species Information Network

• Global Invasive Species Information Network (GISIN) - The Global Invasive Species Information Network (GISIN) provides a platform for sharing invasive species information at a global level, via the Internet and other digital means.

NISbase: An International Nonindigenous Species Database Network

• NISbase: An International Nonindigenous Species Database Network - NISBase is a distributed database providing information concerning nonindigenous species. Through this site, users can access information on taxonomy, life history, native and introduced ranges, photos, maps, and impacts of aquatic species introduced around the world.

back to top