U.S. Department of the InteriorTake Pride In America Banner

May 23, 2007
Heather Roebke
(202) 208-5848

2007 Take Pride in America® National Award Winners Announced

WASHINGTON – Executive Director Heather Roebke today announced the 2007 Take Pride in America National Award recipients in 10 different categories. These individuals, groups, and partnerships will be honored at an awards ceremony held July 19 in the Sidney Yates Auditorium of the Main Interior Building in Washington, D.C.
“It is a tremendous privilege to honor each of the award winners this year. They have all selflessly contributed thousands of hours to the improvement and preservation of our public lands. We want them to be recognized for their accomplishments,” said Roebke. “They embody the mission of Take Pride, and this is just one way we can say ‘Thank you’ for what they represent.”
Each year, the award winners are selected by a panel of judges from hundreds of qualified nominations representing outstanding examples of stewardship across the country. This year, there are 12 National Award winners, representing projects and events in more than 10 states. The projects range from Girls Scouts serving as costumed docents at a restored lockhouse in Virginia, to volunteers walking 4 miles of beach each morning to monitor and preserve Loggerhead Sea Turtle hatching activity during nesting season in South Carolina.
Take Pride in America® is a national partnership program aimed at increasing volunteer service on America’s public lands. It is the goal of Take Pride to empower volunteers from every corner of America to maintain and enhance our natural, cultural, and historical sites. Take Pride encourages citizen stewardship through an innovative public awareness campaign and an interactive website that showcases volunteer opportunities at natural and cultural sites. For more information, visit www.TakePride.gov .

2007 Take Pride in America National Award Winners

  • Carolle and Glenn Aldinger; Chincoteague, VA
  • Marlene M. Lugg; Winnetka, CA
  • James C. Thompson; Ardmore, OK
Non-Profit Organization
  • The Friends of Hunting Island State Park, Inc. Loggerhead Sea Turtle Conservation Project; Saint Helena Island, SC
Public/Private Partnership
  • California Golden Trout Restoration Program; Golden Trout Wilderness, CA
Federal Event/Program
  • Antietam National Battlefield Volunteers; Sharpsburg, MD
School Program
  • Wetlands Education Team; West Geauga Middle School, Chesterland, OH
  • The Power Washers of North America; Quakertown, PA
State Event / Program
  • Lake Wales Ridge Rangers; Lake Placid, FL
Local Government Event
  • City of Clifton Clean Communities Program; Clifton, NJ
Youth / Youth Group
  • Riley’s Lockhouse Docents; Hagerstown, MD
Faith-Based Group
  • Arapahoe and Aurora Colorado Stakes of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints
— DOI —