Business Data and Statistics

The federal government is the largest data producer in the world. Several government agencies and offices exist solely to collect, analyze, and report on business, industrial, and economic activity. Whether you are a new business owner or an old pro, a solid understanding your market and current economic conditions is key to your business' growth and success. This guide provides a collection of business data and statistical sources freely available from several federal agencies.

General Sources

The following resources provide statistical information and research reports on business conditions and for a variety of industries.

FedStats
Provides a full range of official statistical information produced by more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions in the United States.
Statistics of U.S. Businesses
A collection of data files created from U.S. Census County Business Patterns, an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry.
Small Business Research and Statistics
SBA Office of Advocacy provides research reports and statistical information on small businesses conditions in the United States.
STAT-USA
For a subscription fee, you can access authoritative business, trade, and economic information from across the federal government. Produced by the U.S. Department of Commerce.

Demographics - People and Population

American FactFinder
This service of the U.S. Census Bureau provides access to a wealth of population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
State and County Quick Facts
Provides frequently requested Census Bureau information at the national, state, county, and city level.
Current Population Statistics
A monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Labor Demographics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) make significant amounts of data available for specific demographic categories. Demographic categories used by BLS include sex, age, race, and ethnic origin.
Social Security Fact Sheets for Demographic Groups
Fact sheets for all demographic groups including women and young people.
State Population Statistics
Provides access to facts about people, business, and geography.

Consumer Related Statistics

Consumer Credit Data
Consumer Credit Data provided by the Federal Reserve Statistical Release.
Consumer Fraud and Identity Theft
Includes consumer fraud and identity theft complaints received by the FTC, U.S., and Canadian federal, state, and non-governmental organizations.
Consumer Product-Related Statistics
Reports showing statistics related to children's products, child poisonings, CO (Carbon Monoxide) poisonings, and other products.
Inflation and Consumer Statistics
Lists of indexes offered by the Bureau of Labor Statistics that measure different aspects of inflation.

Economic Indicators

Beige Book : Current Economic Conditions
This report is published after each Federal Reserve Bank gathers information on current economic conditions in its District through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, and other sources.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Access to national, international, regional, and industy economic accounts data.
Consumer Price Index
The Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) program produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services.
Economic Census
The Economic Census profiles American business every 5 years, from the national to the local level.
Economic Indicators
The purpose of these links is to provide timely access to the daily releases of key economic indicators from the Bureau of Economic Analysis and the U.S. Census Bureau.
Economic Report of the President
This is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
FRED - Federal Reserve Economic Data
This is an informative database of over 13,000 U.S. economic time series.
Major Economic Indicators
Reports include consumer price index, producer price index, real earnings, and others.
Producer Price Indexes
The Producer Price Index (PPI) program measures the average change over time in the selling prices received by domestic producers for their output.
Reports on the U.S. Economy
These reports provide broad and targeted economic data, analyses and forecasts for use by Government agencies, businesses, and others.
Stat USA
As a service of the U.S. Department of Commerce, StatUSA is a single point of access to authoritative business, trade, and economic information from across the Federal Government.
U.S. Economic Indicators, 1998 - Present
This browse page provides access to monthly Economic Indicators from January 1998 forward. Documents are available as ASCII text and Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF).
White House Economic Statistics Briefing Room
This provides easy access to current Federal economic indicators and links to information produced by a number of Federal agencies.

Employment Statistics

Income and Earnings

Money and Interest Rates

Production and Sales

Trade Statistics

Market Research

Small Business Guide to Market Research
Resources and information to help learn more about your customers and competition.

Going Global

Research International Markets

Market Research Guide for Exporters Resoruces for business owners seeking to sell their products abroad
Country Market Research Reports on trade issues in countries across the globe
BuyUSA.gov Helps U.S. companies find new international business partners in worldwide markets

Enter Topic

Enter Place