

# Adaptive Management

The U.S. Department of the Interior Technical Guide



## Adaptive Management

# The U.S. Department of the Interior Technical Guide

## Adaptive Management Working Group Chair: R. Thomas Weimer

Assistant Secretary for Policy, Management, and Budget

#### **Lead Authors**

Byron K. Williams, Robert C. Szaro, and Carl D. Shapiro

#### **Other Contributors**

Robert Adamcik, Mary Boatman, Sarah Bransom, Jeremy Casterson, John Fay, Scott Florence, Douglas Growitz, Caroline Hermans, Fred A. Johnson, James Kendall, Dennis Kubly, Michael Mayer, Susan Moyer, Malka Pattison, Randall Peterson, Laura van Riper, Michael Runge, Robert Snow, Christine Turner, and Rich Whitley

**Book Design** 

Vitmary Rodriguez

### **U.S. Department of the Interior**

Dirk Kempthorne, Secretary

To request additional copies of this publication, please contact:
U.S. Department of the Interior
1849 C Street, NW
Washington, DC 20240
http://www.doi.gov/

#### Suggested citation:

Williams, B. K., R. C. Szaro, and C. D. Shapiro. 2007. Adaptive Management: The U.S. Department of the Interior Technical Guide. Adaptive Management Working Group, U.S. Department of the Interior, Washington, DC.

International Standard Book Number: 1-411-31760-2

Any use of trade, product, or firm names in this publication is for descriptive purposes only and does not imply endorsement by the U.S. Government.