skip navigational linksDOL Seal - Link to DOL Home Page
Photos representing the workforce - Digital Imagery copyright 2001 PhotoDisc, Inc.
November 3, 2008    DOL Home > OASAM > Labor Hall of Fame   

The Labor Hall of Fame

Labor Hall of FameThe Labor Hall of Fame was founded in 1988 to honor posthumously those Americans whose distinctive contributions to the field of labor have enhanced the quality of life of America's workers. Honorees are chosen each year, and a formal induction ceremony is conducted at the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) in Washington, D.C.

The 2007 Honorees are William B. Wilson and Adolphus Busch.

The ceremony was conducted on November 13, 2007 in Washington D.C., with various management officials and union leaders in attendance.

Elevation to the Labor Hall of Fame is arrived at by a selection panel composed of the Counselor in the Office of the Secretary, the Solicitor of Labor, the Assistant Secretary for Policy, and the Assistant Secretary for Administration and Management. F. Vincent Vernuccio is the current Director of the Labor Hall of Fame.

The Labor Hall of Fame is located inside the North Plaza of DOL's Frances Perkins Building on 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. The more recent honorees are represented by a kiosk containing a portrait, photos, and memorabilia. The portraits in the Hall of Fame, which can be viewed in the "Honorees" section of this Web site, were painted by Dana Van Horn and Donald Gates. The exhibit is open during government working hours.

For more information, call 202-693-6600, Wirtz Labor Library.

Phone Numbers