

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Janet Eissenstat, Director (202) 395-4522

## The White House Announces National Finalists for the 2008-2009 Class of White House Fellows

WASHINGTON, April 29, 2008 – The White House today announced that thirty two outstanding men and women from across the country have been selected as National Finalists for the White House Fellows Program – the nation's most prestigious program for leadership and public service. The National Finalists represent a diverse cross-section of professions, including business, medicine, law, non-profit sector, media, state government, finance, and education. Additionally, four branches of the military are represented among the National Finalists. A complete list of the National Finalists appears below.

The White House Fellows Program was founded in 1964 by President Lyndon B. Johnson. This non-partisan program offers exceptional men and women first-hand experience working at the highest levels of the federal government. Fellows also participate in an education program consisting of roundtable discussions with renowned leaders from the private and public sectors. Following the Fellowship year, Fellows are expected to repay the privilege by contributing to the country as national leaders and public servants.

Selection as a White House Fellow is highly competitive and based on a record of remarkable professional achievement early in one's career, evidence of leadership potential, a proven commitment to public service, and the knowledge and skills necessary to contribute successfully at the highest levels of the federal government. Throughout its history, the program has fostered leaders in many fields including Secretary of Labor Elaine Chao, Former Secretary of State Colin Powell, retired U.S. Army General Wesley Clark, U.S. Senator Samuel Brownback, U.S. Representative Joe Barton, Dallas Mayor Tom Leppert, CNN Chief Medical Correspondent Dr. Sanjay Gupta, Court TV Anchor Jami Floyd, NYSE Euronext Deputy Chairman Marshall Carter, Travelocity CEO Michelle Peluso, and U.S. Court of Appeals Judges M. Margaret McKeown and Deanell Reece Tacha.

Additional information about the Program is located at <u>www.whitehouse.gov/fellows</u>.

## 2008-2009 White House Fellows National Finalists and Hometowns

Brian M. Alexander, Resident Physician, Harvard Radiation Oncology Program; Southfield, MI Margaret B. Angell, Special Assistant to the Chief Operating Officer, Boston Public Schools; New York, NY J. Scott Beale, Founder and Executive Director, Atlas Service Corps Inc.; Mechanicsville, VA Douglas A. Beck, Senior Vice President, Charles Schwab; Half Moon Bay, CA Paula D. Broadwell, Associate Director, Jebsen Center for Counter-Terrorism Studies at the Fletcher School, Tufts University; Bismarck, ND R. Erich Caulfield, Associate, McKinsey and Company; Baton Rouge, LA Julian C. Cheater, Major, U.S. Air Force; San Jose, CA Michael L. Davis, Managing Director and Region Head, JP Morgan Asset Management; Dallas, TΧ Mark E. Farrell, Vice President, Thomas Weisel Partners; San Francisco, CA Daniel A. Fletcher, Associate Professor, University of California-Berkeley; Berkeley, CA Joseph K. Goodwin, Manager, NBC Universal; Concord, MA J. Nadine Gracia, Pediatric Generalist Research Fellow and Clinical Instructor, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia; Novato, CA Sarah A. Harris, Director, Community Outreach, Emmis Communications; Indianapolis, IN Michael Hayes, Lieutenant Commander, U.S. Navy; Virginia Beach, VA Molly J. Hellerman, Director, SportsChallenge Leadership and Education Alliance; Glenview, IL Sarita James, Senior Vice President, New York City Economic Development Corporation; Fort Wayne, IN Ryan M. Janovic, Major, U.S. Army; Akron, OH Richard E. LeBron, Lieutenant Commander, U.S. Navy; Gainesville, FL David J. Loaiza, Technical Advisor to the Department of Energy, Los Alamos National Laboratory: Santa Fe, NM Martin A. Makary, Mark Ravitch Endowed Chair of Surgery, Johns Hopkins University; Arlington, VA Nicole M. Malachowski, Major, U.S. Air Force; Las Vegas, NV Julio A. Marenco, Legal Specialist/Legal Advisor, New Jersey Department of Corrections; North Bergen, NJ Christopher J. Meyer, MPP Student/Course Assistant, Harvard Kennedy School of Government; Shreveport, LA Evrique Miller, Vice President, Citigroup Global Markets; Middletown, NJ K. Shiek Pal, Senior Associate, Mayer Brown LLP; Muncie, IN David L. Rawlinson, MBA Student, Harvard Business School; Rock Hill, SC Jason T. Snyder, Teacher, Wakefield High School; Los Angeles, CA Everett S. Spain, Major, U.S. Army; Pensacola, FL Grayson T. Story, Major, U.S. Marine Corps; Westland, MI Edward F. Ward III, Lieutenant, U.S. Navy; Virginia Beach, VA Jason H. Wasfy, Resident Physician and Clinical Fellow in Internal Medicine, Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School; Great Falls, VA **Catherine A. Wiesner**, Consultant for Northern Uganda Peace Process, UNICEF; Menlo Park, CA