Databases

EPA has developed this Web site to summarize timely information about selected full- and field-scale applications of in situ flushing technologies. In situ flushing is the injection or infiltration of an aqueous solution into a zone of contaminated soil or groundwater, followed by the extraction and aboveground treatment of the elutriate (flushing solution mixed with contaminants). In some rare cases, the flushing solution and treated contaminants may be left in place. These flushing solutions typically serve to increase the mobility and/or solubility of the contaminants. Many organic contaminants are susceptible to in situ flushing, including non-aqueous phase liquids (NAPLs), volatile organic compounds (VOCs), semivolatile organic compounds (SVOCs), polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs), halogenated pesticides, dioxins/furans, cyanides and corrosives. Inorganic compounds such as volatile and nonvolatile metals, corrosives, cyanides, and radioactive contaminants may potentially be removed using in situ flushing. This database provides information about ongoing and completed applications of in situ flushing technologies. The project profiles provide summary information about each application, including relevant site information, contaminants and media treated, technology design and operation, cost information, and performance results, as well as point(s) of contact and references.

View, Search, and Submit Projects

EPA has developed this web site to summarize timely information about selected field-scale demonstration projects. Projects address soil and groundwater cleanup technologies, completed and on going, which have been performed in the U.S. or Canada. This database includes projects that have been presented at a recent technical conference (such as conferences sponsored by Battelle or the National Ground Water Association) or published in a technical journal. The database does not include projects that involve only site characterization technologies or computer modeling. EPA plans to update and expand this web site with additional demonstration projects, and with updated information about specific projects, as further information is obtained.

View and Search Projects

A searchable database of treatment technology applications for soil, groundwater, and other media at Superfund sites. The information in this database was gathered from Superfund decision documents and project managers at Superfund remedial and removal sites. It contains information about source control technologies (addressing soil, sludge, sediment, and other solid-matrix wastes), innovative (in situ) groundwater treatment technologies, and subsurface barrier groundwater containment technologies (vertical engineered barriers). The database is searchable by site name, site identification number (CERCLIS ID), state, technology type, contaminant, and media.

The database on this web site provides the detailed information that supports the document "Treatment Technologies for Site Cleanup: Annual Status Report" (the ASR) now in its 12th edition.

Search Database

View the Annual Status Report 12th Edition

Information about proposed, tested, or installed projects of alternative landfill covers are captured in this web site. The alternative landfill covers presented involve design concepts that manipulate water balance principles to minimize the infiltration of water to the waste. Two types of alternative landfill covers primarily included in this web site are evapotranspiration (ET) covers and capillary barrier covers. The information for these projects is provided as cover profiles that summarize relevant site background; cover design information; monitoring and performance results; costs; as well as points of contact and references. Most of the cover projects are demonstrations; however, several are full-scale applications.

View, Search, and Submit Profiles

An up-to-date compilation of the most relevant information sources on 17 remediation technologies ranging from the established (SVE) to the innovative (phytoremediation). New information added monthly.

Visit Technology Focus Area

Brief profiles of fractured bedrock sites that identify the nature and extent of contamination, the geology affecting assessment and remediation efforts, characterization and remediation actions taken or planned, and points of contact. The site allows browsing or searching the profiles.

View, Search, and Submit Profiles

Information about completed and ongoing applications of in situ chemical oxidation technologies to treat chlorinated solvents, petroleum products, and pesticide compounds in groundwater and soil are captured in this web site. The information is provided in project profiles that summarize relevant site information, contaminants and media, technology design and operation, and cost and performance results, as well as point(s) of contact and references.

View, Search, and Submit Profiles

Contains over 280 profiles of completed and ongoing applications of treatment of MTBE at contaminated sites. The profiles provide a summary of relevant site information, contaminants and media treated, technology design and operation, and cost and performance results, points of contact, and references.

View, Search, and Submit Profiles

Summarizes technical data and lessons learned from more than 60 permeable reactive barrier (PRB) installations for ground-water remediation in the United States and abroad. Includes data from completed and ongoing pilot- and full-scale demonstrations and full-scale cleanups sorted by contaminant treated.

View, Search, and Submit Profiles

This online, searchable database lists 663 ongoing and completed field demonstrations of innovative remediation technologies sponsored by government agencies working in partnership with private technology developers. Projects are provided in a format that can be searched by criteria such as media, technology type and contaminant type.

Note: This database only contains projects through June 2000. Current demonstration project information is available within the separate Remediation Technology Demonstration Project Profiles database.

View, Search, and Submit Projects


Remediation Technology Demonstration Project Profiles

EPA version of an in situ thermal treatment projects database capturing information on sites deploying or planning to deploy these methods. The database is searchable.

View, Search, and Submit Profiles

An online database providing access to treatment and site characterization case studies that document real experiences and lessons learned in selecting and implementing technologies to treat a wide range of soil and groundwater contamination at a variety of sites.

View FRTR Reports

Contains citations and abstracts of references to market/commercialization information, cleanup news, technology demonstrations and research, and other news relevant to the development and application of innovative remediation technologies. Updated every two weeks from 1998 onward.

Search Archive

The drycleaners site profiles database is a tool to obtain information on the remediation of drycleaner sites throughout the United States. The sites can be browsed or searched using keywords and contain detailed information of value to all parties involved in the remediation of drycleaner sites.

View, Search, and Submit Profiles

EPA has developed this Web site to summarize timely information about selected full-, field- and large greenhouse-scale applications of phytotechnology. Phytotechnology is an emerging technology that uses various types of plants to degrade, extract, contain, or immobilize contaminants in soil and water. Projects for this Web site are collected using information from technical journals, conference proceedings as well as information obtained from technology vendors and site managers. The project profiles contain information about relevant site background, the types of contaminants treated, type of vegetation used, phytotechnology mechanisms, planting date, project size, location, cost, monitoring and performance results, as well as points of contact and references. This Web site can be used as a networking tool (each profile has a contact) to provide past solutions and lessons learned to new sites with similar contaminants and climate.

View and Search Projects

This bibliography contains sediments remediation-related articles and documents. The online bibliography is searchable by author, title, citation, and description/abstract.

View and Search Bibliography

This bibliography contains 207 permeable reactive barrier-related articles and documents. Some, but not all, of the entries in the bibliography pertain to the site installation profiles also available on this web site. The bibliography is searchable by author, title, abstract, and the site to which the citation applies.

View and Search Bibliography

This database contains over 600 entries related to the In-Place Inactivation and Natural Ecological Restoration Technologies (IINERT) Soil-Metals Action Team's interests and research.

View and Search Bibliography

Brief profiles of fractured bedrock sites that identify the nature and extent of contamination, the geology affecting assessment and remediation efforts, characterization and remediation actions taken or planned, and points of contact. The site allows browsing or searching the profiles.

View, Search, and Submit Profiles

Offers the full text of papers published by experienced environmental and laboratory professionals to help environmental regulators and practitioners avoid data quality problems.

View Papers

Offers references to papers, reports, patents, and government-sponsored research projects and awards concerning existing and emerging characterization and monitoring technologies as derived from literature and online sources.

Visit 21M² Home Page

Contains citations and abstracts of references to market/commercialization information, cleanup news, technology demonstrations and research, and other news relevant to the development and application of innovative remediation technologies. Updated every two weeks from 1998 onward.

Search Archive