Chicken Genome Resources

NCBI Web Resources:
Global Query. Query all NCBI Entrez databases in one step.
BLAST. Compare your sequence to different organism-specific sequences.
Clone Registry. Find information about specific BAC clones, including sequencing status and end sequence information.
dbSNP. Database of SNPs and other genetic variation.
Entrez Gene. Focal point for genes and associated information.
e-PCR. Check your sequence
for STSs and view in genomic context.
GEO DataSets. Experimental sets of GEO data.
Genome Project. Complete and in-progress large-scale sequencing, assembly, annotation and mapping projects.
 HomoloGene. Putative homologies among the annotated genes of several completely sequenced eukaryotic genomes.
Map Viewer. Interactive viewer for genome maps, sequence, and genes.
PopSet.Population study data sets.
PubMed Central. Digital archive of full text and content from life science journals.
RefSeq. Reference sequences of genomic contigs, mRNAs, and proteins.
Taxonomy. Taxonomy Browser hosts summaries of sequence resources and external links through NCBI's LinkOut.
Trace Archive. Collection of raw sequence traces from various sequencing projects.
UniGene. Organization of transcribed sequences into gene-based clusters.
UniSTS. A non-redundant collection of STSs with links to maps and sequence.

FTP Sites:
Gene
RefSeq
Map Viewer
UniGene
UniSTS

Welcome to the Gallus gallus Genome Resources page. This homepage provides information on chicken- and avian-related resources from NCBI and the chicken research community. We encourage your suggestions.

[Gallus gallus (chicken)]

The chicken (Gallus gallus) is an important model organism for biomedical research, development, and aging, in addition to being important agriculturally. This handsome rooster is a Red Jungle Fowl, considered the ancestor of all breeds of domestic chickens.

Photo courtesy of Diana Andersen, Kimani Aviaries, Western Australia

Just In...

Chicken NIH Model Organism Web Page: A website for Gallus (chicken) is available under non-mammlaian models from the NIH Model Organisms for Biomedical Research page. Please go to the Trans-NIH Gallus Initiative website and take a look. Links for zebra finch resources are also available.

Release of build 2.1 in Map Viewer: This build represents an improvement to the initial 6.6X assembly. Map displays include alignment of zebra finch UniGene clusters and mRNAs as well as mRNAs from avian species other than chicken and zebra finch.

Recent meetings...

The 2007 International Chick Meeting was held in Barcelona, Spain at the Universitat Pompeu Fabra, April 11- 14.
Please go to the meeting website for program information.



Additional avian genome resources...

A resource guide is now available for the zebra finch, Taeniopygia guttata. The genome for this songbird has been sequenced by the
Genome Sequencing Center
at the Washington University
School of Medicine in St. Louis.
Zebra finch build 1.1 is now available in Map Viewer.

A turkey linkage map from the University of Minnesota can now be displayed on the chicken genome. Turkey has also been added to UniGene.


    Jump to the Genome!
Chromosome: 

New This Month In:
Gene
CoreNucleotide
Protein
PubMed
PubMed Central

ANNOUNCING the release of the improved chicken genome assembly (build 2.1) in Map Viewer. Take a moment to BLAST your favorite gene sequence against the genome and explore the maps available for viewing. Learn more about the Gnomon gene prediction program and the resulting models available in Map Viewer.

Documentation:
Chicken Map Viewer Help
Chicken Sequencing White Paper

Maps and Sequence:
Chicken Map Viewer
Gallus gallus Traces

Annotation Projects:
Ensembl Annotation
UCSC Annotation

Sequence Resources
Animal Sciences Group - AceBrowser
ArkDB (Roslin node)
AvianNET
BBSRC ChickEST Database
ChickBASE
Chicken QTLdb
ChickFPC
ChickGO at AgBase
Gallus Genome GBrowser
G. gallus Genomic Sequencing Project (Sanger Institute, UK)
GallusReactome
The chicken SAGE website
U.D. Chick EST Database

Other Resources:
Avian Sciences Net
GEISHA: Gallus gallus EST and in situ
hybridization
analysis database
NetVet
Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals (OMIA)
Rare Breeds Survival Trust (RBST)
ThePoultrySite
U.S. Poultry & Egg Association
US Poultry Genome Project