Federal Employee Health Benefit Program

Federal Employees Dental and Vision Insurance Program (FEDVIP)

The Federal Employees Dental and Vision Insurance Program (FEDVIP) is a new program, separate and different from the FEHB Program, authorized by the Federal Employee Dental and Vision Benefits Enhancement Act of 2004.

OPM has contracted with several insurance carriers to make supplemental dental and vision benefits available to eligible Federal and USPS employees, annuitants, and their eligible family members.

Dental Insurance

Dental plans will provide a comprehensive range of services, including the following:

• Class A (Basic) services, which include oral examinations, prophylaxis, diagnostic evaluations, sealants and x-rays.
• Class B (Intermediate) services, which include restorative procedures such as fillings, prefabricated stainless steel crowns, periodontal scaling, tooth extractions, and denture adjustments.
• Class C (Major) services, which include endodontic services such as root canals, periodontal services such as gingivectomy, major restorative services such as crowns, oral surgery, bridges and prosthodontic services such as complete dentures.
• Class D (Orthodontic) services with up to a 24 month waiting period for eligible dependents up to age 19.

Please review the dental plans¡¯ benefits material for detailed information on the benefits covered, cost-sharing requirements, and provider directories.

Vision Insurance

Vision plans will provide comprehensive eye examinations and coverage for lenses, frames and contact lenses. Other benefits such as discounts on lasik surgery may also be available.

Please review the vision plans¡¯ benefits material for detailed information on the benefits covered, cost-sharing requirements, and provider directories.

Who is eligible to enroll in the FEDVIP?

Federal and Postal Service employees eligible for FEHB coverage (whether or not enrolled) and annuitants (regardless of FEHB status) are eligible to enroll in a dental plan and/or a vision plan.

What enrollment options are available?

1. Self Only, which covers only the enrolled employee or annuitant;
2. Self plus One, which covers the enrolled employee or annuitant plus one eligible family member specified by the enrollee; and
3. Self and Family, which covers the enrolled employee or annuitant and all eligible family members.

Which of my family members are eligible?

Eligible family members include your spouse, unmarried dependent children under age 22, and unmarried dependent children age 22 or over incapable of selfsupport because of a mental or physical disability that existed before age 22.

How can I find out about the plans that are available?

You can find a comparison of the plans available and their premiums on the OPM website at www.opm.gov/insure/dentalvision. This site also provides links to each plan¡¯s website where you can view detailed information about benefits and preferred providers.

What are the premiums?

The premiums will vary by plan and by enrollment type (Self, Self Plus One, or Self and Family). There is no government contribution to the premiums. If you are an active employee, your premiums will be taken from your salary on a pre-tax basis when your salary is sufficient to make the premium withholding. If you are an annuitant, premiums will be withheld from your monthly annuity check when your annuity is sufficient. Based on Internal Revenue Code pre-tax premiums are not available to annuitants. For information on each plan's specific premiums, visit www.opm.gov/insure/dentalvision.

When can I enroll?

Eligible employees and annuitants can enroll in a dental and/or vision plan during this open season . November 13 to December 11, 2006. You can enroll, disenroll, or change your enrollment during subsequent annual open seasons, or because of a qualifying life event. New employees will have 60 days from their first eligibility date to enroll.

How do I enroll?

You enroll on the Internet at www.BENEFEDS.com. BENEFEDS is a secure enrollment website sponsored by OPM where you enter your name, personal information like address and Social Security Number, the agency you work for (or retirement plan that pays your annuity), and the dental and/or vision plan you select. For those without access to a computer, call 1-877-888-FEDS (1-877-888-3337) (TTY number, 1-877-889-5680).

You cannot enroll in a FEDVIP plan using the Health Benefits Election Form (SF 2809) or through an agency self-service system, such as Employee Express, MyPay, or Employee Personal Page. However, those sites may provide a link to BENEFEDS.

When will coverage be effective?

Coverage for those who enroll during this year¡¯s open season (November 13 . December 11, 2006) will be effective December 31, 2006.

How does this coverage work with my FEHB plan's dental or vision coverage?

Some FEHB plans already cover some dental and vision services. Coverage provided under your FEHB plan remains as your primary coverage. FEDVIP coverage pays secondary to that coverage. When you enroll in a dental and/or vision plan on BENEFEDS.com, you will be asked to provide information on your FEHB plan so that your plans can coordinate benefits. Providing your FEHB information may reduce your out-of-pocket costs.

This is a brief summary of the features of the dental and vision plans. Before making a final decision, please read the plan brochures and provider directories thoroughly. All plans are not the same. All benefits are subject to the definitions, limitations, co-payments, annual maximums and exclusions set forth in the individual plan brochures.

How to read this chart:

The table on the following pages highlights the selected features/classes of dental services. Always consult plan brochures before making a decision. The chart does not show all of your possible out-of-pocket costs. The deductibles shown are the amount of covered expenses that you pay before the dental plan begins to pay. Service Class refers to the level of benefits for each plan. The Service Classes are listed below. Calendar year maximum refers to the annual amount of benefits that you can receive per person.

Please Note: Most plans require that you be enrolled in the same dental plan for the 24-month waiting period before accessing orthodontia services. There are no other waiting periods for services.

Dental plans provide a comprehensive range of services, including but not limited to the following:

• Class A (Basic) services, which include oral examinations, prophylaxis, diagnostic evaluations, sealants and x-rays.
• Class B (Intermediate) services, which include restorative procedures such as fillings, prefabricated stainless steel crowns, periodontal scaling, tooth extractions, and denture adjustments.
• Class C (Major) services, which include endodontic services such as root canals, periodontal services such as gingivectomy, major restorative services such as crowns, oral surgery, bridges and prosthodontic services such as complete dentures.
• Class D (Orthodontic) services with up to a 24-month waiting period for dependents up to age 19.

National dental and vision carriers provide overseas coverage. Overseas residents can locate the premium information on the FEDVIP website, plan brochures, or by calling the plan¡¯s customer service phone number.

FEDVIP table