Federal Employee Health Benefit Program

RI 70-6 For Individuals Receiving Compensation from the Office of Workers' Compensation Programs (OWCP)

Program Features

• No Waiting Periods. You can use your benefits as soon as your coverage becomes effective. There are no pre-existing condition limitations even if you change plans.

• A Choice of Coverage. Choose between Self Only or Self and Family.

• A Choice of Plans and Options. Select from Fee-for-Service (with the option of a Preferred Provider Organization), Health Maintenance Organizations, Point-of-Service plans, Consumer-Driven plans, or High Deductible Health Plans.

• A Government Contribution. The Government pays 72 percent of the average premium toward the total cost of your premium, up to a maximum of 75 percent of the total premium for any plan.

• Salary Deduction. You pay your share of the premium through a payroll deduction.

• Annual Enrollment Opportunity. Each year you can change your health plan enrollment. This year the Open Season runs from November 14, 2005, through December 12, 2005. Other events allow for certain types of changes throughout the year. Contact the OWCP district office that handles your case for more information.

• Continued Group Coverage. Eligible participants can continue coverage following divorce or death. Contact the OWPC district office that handles your case for more information.

• Coverage after FEHB Ends. You or your family members may be eligible for temporary continuation of FEHB coverage or for conversion to non-group (private) coverage when FEHB coverage ends. Contact the OWPC district office that handles your case for more information.

• Consumer Protections. Go to www.opm.gov/insure/health/consumers to: see your appeal rights to OPM if you and your plan have a dispute over a claim; read the Patients' Bill of Rights and the FEHB Program and; learn about your privacy protections when it comes to your medical information.

Table of Contents